Rear Leaf Spring Installation on 31 Ford - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2009, 01:03 AM

Last journal entry: Gunked up 454 water jacket
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Rear Leaf Spring Installation on 31 Ford

Hey guys,

I am trying to convert my 31 Ford to a leaf spring set up on the rear. The pictures that I have attached are what I am starting with (and no, I did not fabricate this mess). I have never done this before and have some questions:

1. How many leaf springs should I have? 2? 3? 5? I would like about the same ride height that it is at now.

2. Is it critical where I mount them on the rear part of the frame? I was thinking at the very rear of the frame and going forward to the level part of the frame on each side.

3. Would it be better / easier to go to a coil over set up like that which is pictured on this t-bucket (with the chrome rear end) in conjuction with a set of radius rods?

I will be removing the arms that are currently under this rear end as well as the coil springs obviously.

Any and all suggestions are welcomed. I am going to need a lot of help on this one. If anyone has some diagrams or pictures of what would work on this I would be forever in your debt.

The pictures are at this link. http://www.hotrodders.com/gallery/sh...0&ppuser=73238

They were to large to post on this page.

Thanks again.

Brent

Advertisement

Last edited by 31fordcoupe; 04-12-2009 at 03:09 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-12-2009, 07:36 AM
Glad To Be Here

Last photo:

Here are the pictures for all to see in this thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 31fordcoupe