rear suspension question - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-15-2002, 10:42 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Question rear suspension question

K, I know this will seam like a very dumb question to many of the people on this board. But I am just getting into the REAL MUSCLE and I need to ask.

My question is this, What is the main differance between a PARALLEL LINK and a LIFT BAR rear suspension? What will be the best for mainly street, some track use? (I should mention that I am on somewhat of a budget)

I am building a `63 Nova. I do not want a 4 link.
It was recomended to me that I get a ladder bar set up. I am assuming the lift bar is the closest to that description.

Also , were is the best to get the parts I need? (I have been in touch with Martz and Heidt's.

I look forward to some advice and thanks for reading.

Advertisement
Advertisement

Old 08-16-2002, 11:29 AM
NEVER use credit cards!

Last journal entry: car with tt2's, (stockers going back on)
Last photo:

i've never heard of either term but would guess a parallel bar is a panard bar which would center the car over the rear end. it's attached to one side of the top of the rear end and goes to the opposite side of the car attaching to the body.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2002, 03:23 PM

Last wiki edit: Mopar tapered axle rear brake conversion
Last journal entry: What I'm doing now...
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 49

Lightbulb

Ladder bars, as opposed to 4 link, are a bit simpler to install and are easier to adjust however a four link will probably give you a bit better ride.

Some people don't like ladder bars but mine have given very good service for the last 5 years and I have no complaints.