Rebuild, Crate, Rebuilt, 350 or 383?? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2007, 05:16 PM

Last journal entry: epoxy paint
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Rebuild, Crate, Rebuilt, 350 or 383??

I have been doing my first restoration for five months or so on a 1970 el camino. Im sure all of you have thought of this many times before, so I want to ask to get some of your thoughts and recomendations.

I have an 80'-85' 305 sbc that is still in my el camino. It is smoking and needs to be rebuilt. A quick fix to get her to drive MIGHT be to replace the timing gear and pully, then set the timing. Even with this, It still needs a rebuild. I also have a TH350 transmission.

The rear gears are 2.73 but I eventually want to change to 3.73

I have an RPM air gap manifold, hedman headers, edelbrock 750 cfm (way to big for a 305), rebuilt steering pump, existing water pump, existing alternator, new HEI MSD cap and rotor with new wires and spark plugs, new battery.

I have been saving my pennies, working weekends (and weekdays), selling my stuff on ebay, and whatever honest way of making a buck to obtain a reliable engine for my car. So far I have $450 in from about a week and a half (with the monthly bills paid). I am a full time college student. I have friday and sunday to work on the el camino.

What is the Best way to go about obtaining a 350 or 383 (preferably a 383) that is reliable and gives me the option of adding more performance as time goes on?

I am almost positive that I want roller tappet hydrolic lifters. a bit more expensive but I think is more reliable and better performance-wise. Plus the stuff I have been hearing about the crappy oil.