rebuilding 350 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-21-2003, 07:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 266
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post rebuilding 350

Would it be the best to take the block to a michine shop to put a cam in or put it your self Which will be the fastest and will you have to change the cam bearing going from factory to 420 lift and 214 duration how hard is to change them if so. And do you have to line bore it to make shure it straight.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-21-2003, 10:21 PM
BOBCRMAN@aol.com's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Holly, michigan
Posts: 8,212
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 27
Thanked 292 Times in 272 Posts
Post

you do not need to change cam bearings unless they are worn or gouged up from sloppy cam installation, takes a special tool,complete disassembly of engine. you only need line bore if the crank turns hard in the bearings or the housing has mismatched caps or spun bearings or out of round bores.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2003, 12:07 AM
Croz's Avatar
Hotrodders.com moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 464
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Post

in this case, i would say a machine shop.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2003, 06:51 AM
slider in wa's Avatar
Slider in Wa.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Benton City Wa.99320
Age: 63
Posts: 700
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Have you ever changed a Cam before? I think Croz it right and has given you good advice.
2 penny`s worth.
Slider in Wa.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2003, 09:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 266
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Yes I'v changed cams in many big blocks but just a few small blocks I Put a factory corvette cam in and 350 with out taking to a shop and it was soild lifers and it's run's good and hit's hard still today.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.