Rebuilding 73 SS Nova BBC w/ 4Spd Questions - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2011, 10:30 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Rebuilding 73 SS Nova BBC w/ 4Spd Questions

I'm new to this forums and this is my first time doing this, so please bare with me.

I've finally started to start working/finishing my 73 Nova and want to finish by at least September. I have began buying everything for my front end (The vehicle tagged a tree ruining the sub-frame, and front clip, and his newly rebuilt EFI 350). I picked it up off him for $700 with a freshly rebuilt 3:73 rear end, all original dash/gauges, and now have a guy that always stops into work that conveniently wrecked the whole rear end on his 74 SS a while back, kept it barn stored and has been trying to get rid of it for a while now. The three issues I'm now having are:

1) My father and I have always wanted to do the whole BBC thing, and even though the 73 came with a 350 4bbl there's plenty of room and no reason not to go bigger. the PLAN is to use a 4 bolt 454 block, with the 427 pistons/steel (non-forged) crank, and some high flowing closed port heads (I've been hearing a lot about 781's and 409's). I'm wanting this to hit between 450-500hp on the motor with another 50-100 on the bottle bring the total to 550-560 on the strip, without an extremely high compression ratio (I don't need/want to run on rocket fuel.. 9.5 CR if at all possible) as I want this to be a street/occasional strip car. A summer weekend toy, that can be driven to work once in a while, that CAN hit high 10's in the quarter.