Rebuilding suspension from scratch, need help! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2012, 06:00 PM

Last journal entry: The death of Blue
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 17

Rebuilding suspension from scratch, need help!

My 54 Chevy pu is ready for the rear leafs and suspension, but there are problems. #1 is me, I'm a newbie and tried to think ahead on a lot of stuff, but rear suspension wasn't one of them. I never measured how far the axle was from the frame, ground, nothing. #2 is the original leafs on there were what you would use for a trailer nowadays, so I cut em off, mounts and all. I have these newly procured 78 Chevy pu 1/2 ton leafs and mounts, but I have no clue how to mount. Do I tack them on and put the rear diff in and see what happens? Also here is a pic of the way it looked before. I like the rear in the air, that's ideally the rake I want. Please have mercy on a newbie and help!
Zak

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-23-2012, 06:13 PM
I don't understand?

Last journal entry: this is only a test
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

bolt the leafs to the rearend and roll it under the truck
get it centered in the wheel well
measure a few different ways to make sure it is under there straight/square
and tack on the brackets
set the truck down and double check the measurements and how it looks
then finish welding it up
the shackle angle will also need some double checking, when the trucks weight is setting on it, before you finish welding

I really think it needs to be a little lower than it is in the pic
Old 03-24-2012, 01:16 AM

Last photo: