rebuilt 700r4 doesn't work - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-08-2008, 08:46 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Miami, Florida
Age: 72
Posts: 43
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
rebuilt 700r4 doesn't work

I have installed a complete rebuilt 700r4, with new converter in my 3 years project 1984 Chevy C-10. I fired up the engine for the first time about 2 weeks ago, but had not tested the trans at any gear because still need to work on the brakes. Yesterday I worked on the brakes and when done I set my transmission on Dr...nothing happen, I engaged all other gears and nothing work. I spoke to the guy who sold me the transmission and he asked me to check if the converter was bolted to the flywheel, he said if this is not the problem I must check if the filter was in place or has fall. I was sure I had bolted the transmission to the flywheel but checked anyway, as I did with the filter which was perfect in place. Here comes my question, I am not a transmission technician, is at all possible that flange on the torque converter housing did not engage with the trans oil pump even the transmission attached without any problem to engine?
Thank you guys for your answer.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-08-2008, 08:53 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,058
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 315
Thanked 94 Times in 91 Posts
Did you bolt the torque converter to the flex plate first before the install of the trans onto the engine?


Was the trans full of fluid during engine fire up operation?


post back when you can.

__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-09-2008, 05:12 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Miami, Florida
Age: 72
Posts: 43
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Crosley, my converter was bolted to the flywheel after transmission had been bolted to engine. Transmission had the fluid when engine was fired up.
Luis
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-09-2008, 06:36 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 725
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Did you have to slide the torque convertor forward a bit to meet the flywheel? If not it may not have been engaging the trans fluid pump properly. The pump may be ruined now. Don't ask me how I learned about that.....LOL.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-09-2008, 08:03 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Miami, Florida
Age: 72
Posts: 43
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ernkazern, I met transmission to engine about 2 months ago and I do not remember if I had to move the converter fwd a bit. Tomorrow I'll try to loose converter bolts from flex plate and see if there is some play between them.
Thank you for your reply,
Luis
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-09-2008, 08:46 AM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,058
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 315
Thanked 94 Times in 91 Posts
There is suppose to be a gap between the torque converter and the flexplate when the engine and trans are bolted together.

That gap should be a 1/4 inch or less.

I would install a pressure gauge onto this 700 trans. THe main pressure port is on the drivers side.. near the manual shift linkage.... it is a threaded plug just above the linkage area
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-09-2008, 08:51 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 725
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Crosley's standard of 1/4 inch of clearance sounds reasonable. I never measured the clearance, but there should be a noticeable amount.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-09-2008, 10:38 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Miami, Florida
Age: 72
Posts: 43
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I didn't tell you that when I checked the fluid level at idle speed, selector in Parking, fluid was very high, having 11 qts inside. This made me think that the pump is not working. I am planning on taking the bolts off the converter/flexplate to check if there is this 1/4 " gap if allows to move back and fwd, but is a way to know if my pump was damaged?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-09-2008, 11:36 AM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,058
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 315
Thanked 94 Times in 91 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cu42
I didn't tell you that when I checked the fluid level at idle speed, selector in Parking, fluid was very high, having 11 qts inside. This made me think that the pump is not working. I am planning on taking the bolts off the converter/flexplate to check if there is this 1/4 " gap if allows to move back and fwd, but is a way to know if my pump was damaged?
unbolting the torque converter will not indicate pump damage


The way to check for pump damage is to remove the transmission from the vehicle for disassembly and inspection of the pump.

Sometimes you can remove the torque converter and look inside the pump area to see broken parts of the pump.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2008, 07:53 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 725
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
If you unbolt the torque converter and it won't move back it's a safe bet that the pump has been damaged.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-18-2008, 08:46 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: iowa
Posts: 28
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If the torque converter moves as you were advice'd, don't drop the tranny yet. Pull the tranny pan and look for parts laying in it. When I rebuilt mine I used all the parts supplied in the rebuild kit and my tranny had no reverse and forward gears were slipping. I talked to customer support tech spec and his first question was " Did I use the supplied c-clip on the boost valve on the pump?". "Of course" I said. "Thats your problem" he said. He went on with saying that 50% of the time the supplied clip gives the illusion of seating but when you start the motor it pops out along with everything its retaining.
He also said that normally the vehicle will not have foward or reverse and to go ahead and reassemble ( If you haven't drove it this way ) in vehicle using a oem clip and everything will be fine.
He said that since I had partial forward then most likely not everything had fallen out and one piece was stuck in there. AND since I drove it and felt it slip, I had burnt several clutch packs and band AND torque convertor
He was right and it was a expensive time consuming lesson.
I experimented with the oem clip and the other and it truly did feel like it seated right, but the oem did feel like it snapped in with more authority.
Using the oem now with no problems.
If this is the case for you be glad you could'nt drive it and cause more damage
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-19-2008, 07:29 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Miami, Florida
Age: 72
Posts: 43
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thank you for your reply, I did not rebuild the transmission myself but when I dropped the pan off nothing was loose there. I am waiting for a new torque coverter that the guy who rebuilt it says he is 100% sure that is the problem... I'm not so sure but as soon as I receive it and install it on the I will keep you inform.
Thanks, Luis
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
700r4 work well with 3:00 gears? john smedley Transmission - Rearend 9 09-18-2007 06:46 AM
Rebuild, Crate, Rebuilt, 350 or 383?? 1970Chevy Engine 9 09-14-2007 04:29 AM
will 4l60e work in my 89 silverado? It has a 700r4. mojokimble Transmission - Rearend 2 04-21-2006 08:16 PM
new or rebuilt Automatic valvebodies younguyw/oldcrap Transmission - Rearend 6 12-21-2005 02:04 PM
700R4 vs. 2004R 81ElCaminoGuy Transmission - Rearend 2 08-21-2002 01:10 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.