Recovering a Dashboard - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Interior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-28-2002, 07:56 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Question Recovering a Dashboard

Greetings,
I am looking for information on how to recover a stamped steel dashboard. In stock condition it had a padded vinyl cover which as you might guess is cracked in numerous places.

What I am envisioning is having to strip the dash down to the metal, installing new padding and then recovering with vinyl or leather.

How can I get more info on doing this? Are there books that cover this that you would recommend?

How are details around insturment openings done? This dash has profile around the opening. Does this profile exist in the steel dash?

I'm a rookie at upholstry with more perseverance than knowledge. I'm willing to dive into anything , including this.

thanks
Scott in MN

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-28-2002, 08:10 PM
Fantastically cannibalistic!

Last photo:

I've done all of my interiors and its basically what you said, strip it down pad it and cover it. I don't know of any bookbut I'm sure their are some. Talk to Vintage on this board, he does interiors for a living.

Faust
Old 05-29-2002, 12:22 AM