Related????? Kinda- - - - - - You Betcha - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > General Discussion> Hotrodders' Lounge
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-08-2002, 07:22 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Post Related????? Kinda- - - - - - You Betcha

Being a newbie, I don't want to drive the train but would like to re-kindle some fond nostalgic memories and instill an idea in your minds as to how to re-live those memories. This subject isn't about hot rods in the sence that we know them but is related as it fathered a lot of us into the hot rod world. The subject matter is Slot Cars.

Remember the early sixties when almost every town had a slot car track. Many of us we're teenagers at this time and many didn't have drivers liscences yet but we did have gear head status and expressed it at the local slot car track. Ah yes, you remeber, the one that was in the old super market building down on main street. That had the smell of 3-N=1 oil and wintergreen tire treatment.The Coke machine with the 10 cent bottles, candy rack, parts counter and a display case with 1/24th scale hot rods that made the best of us say: WOW, That's bad, boss, mean, tough, trick or what ever your favorite excitable expression was at that time. And this was the time when you opened the Sears and Robuck, Montgomery Wards, J.C.Pennys of Speigel Xmas catalog and marked the page with the slot car sets so Santa would be sure to notice. And the fun filled dayd with your buddies combining track and making that monster track layout in Tims fathers garage. Remember Aurora Thunder-Jets?