Hot Rod Forum banner

Relay wiring help

12K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  Ratrag 
#1 ·
Hoping you guys can help me understand how I would correctly wire an ignition kill switch with a relay incorporated. I know the advantages and disadvantages of killing the starter vs. the fuel pump (mine is mechanical) vs. a battery cutoff (don't want to always lose power to certain accessories) or vs. the coil (don't want the starter to be able to crank and burn up). It's a 12V system with a SBC and 80's or 90's GM column.

I believe it's desired to incorporate a relay to handle the load of the starter solenoid, but I am an electrical novice - I have searched and read and need really specific instructions. I keep seeing different and what seems like conflicting diagrams. So here it goes:

I have considered a momentary push switch and would prefer it (have to hold when turning key to start) but on the rare occasion I have to leave the car for work to be done, I don't want to have to tell them about the switch. So I've settled on a toggle-type or dual position push button on/off switch.

Is this diagram with the single relay the correct way to wire it?

If this is correct (I still need help)... Does #30 go through a fuse to the battery via an open fuse in the fuse panel? What size fuse? Does #87 go on the side of the cut wire that continues on to the Starter (should be purple, right)? Does #86 go on the side of the cut wire that goes to the column/ignition, with the switch wired inline? What size/capacity relay do I get? I see other diagrams that are similar but show each of the relay numbers going to different areas... does it matter?

On the diagram with the two relays, why does it take a second relay just for a momentary push button? Couldn't it be done with the one relay? And why are things like the ground connected from different numbers on the relay?