Reliable 3000? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Interior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2010, 11:54 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 803
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Reliable 3000?

I don't know if i hit a web Site that wasn't updated. but I think I got one brand new. All the other sites said "discontinued" I'll let you know

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2010, 08:42 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 803
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Spoke to them today and they say it is on the way.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2010, 12:55 PM
DanTwoLakes's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Contact adhesive
Last journal entry: 49 Packard
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lake Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Age: 64
Posts: 5,826
Wiki Edits: 22

Thanks: 0
Thanked 144 Times in 131 Posts
I bet they send you a 4000 instead. If I remember right, that's what happened to me.
__________________
__________________________________

No one lives forever, the trick is creating something that will.
__________________________________
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2010, 02:28 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 803
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanTwoLakes
I bet they send you a 4000 instead. If I remember right, that's what happened to me.
I was thinking that as well. If so, I'll send it back. I specifically want the 3000 and took my chances ordering thinking they might try to switch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2010, 07:11 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Getting Started with Upholstery
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Coulee, WA
Posts: 124
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
where did you order it from?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2010, 02:19 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 803
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanTwoLakes
I bet they send you a 4000 instead. If I remember right, that's what happened to me.
Yep, they sent me an invoice by email for a 3000 and sent a 4000. you think I should keep it or send it back? right now I have some sort of Asian unit on the machine. Would you recommend a 4000 if a 3000 is not available?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-08-2010, 09:41 AM
DanTwoLakes's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Contact adhesive
Last journal entry: 49 Packard
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lake Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Age: 64
Posts: 5,826
Wiki Edits: 22

Thanks: 0
Thanked 144 Times in 131 Posts
According to Reliable, the 4000 is a new and improved version of the 3000. The difference is that there is no buzzing at slow speeds with the 4000, and it supposedly has better low end torque. ( I don't know how that's possible, 'cuz a true servo motor is a constant torque device.) I have both, and I think they both work just fine. The 4000 only has speed control down to 2100 RPMs, which is about 40% of its top end speed, so if you really want to go very, very slow order the 50MM motor pulley. That will make the slowest speed around 800RPMs. Try it out. If it doesn't work the way you want send it back.
__________________
__________________________________

No one lives forever, the trick is creating something that will.
__________________________________

Last edited by DanTwoLakes; 10-08-2010 at 09:54 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-08-2010, 10:23 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 803
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Last night i mounted it to the table and ran across 3 problems. First is that I need a smaller belt - simple enough to cure. Secondly, I can't figure how the rod fits to the motor. Third, it appears I'll have to move the pedal over as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-08-2010, 01:00 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 803
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coodeville
Last night i mounted it to the table and ran across 3 problems. First is that I need a smaller belt - simple enough to cure. Secondly, I can't figure how the rod fits to the motor. Third, it appears I'll have to move the pedal over as well.
I took my time and got it together. Only thin now is that I need a smaller belt.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-08-2010, 02:13 PM
DanTwoLakes's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Contact adhesive
Last journal entry: 49 Packard
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lake Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Age: 64
Posts: 5,826
Wiki Edits: 22

Thanks: 0
Thanked 144 Times in 131 Posts
Go to a hardware store, not a place like an auto parts store or a power center that repairs snow throwers, etc. You shouldn't have to pay more than $5 for the belt. What size do you need, I might have one that will work. You can have it for the postage.
__________________
__________________________________

No one lives forever, the trick is creating something that will.
__________________________________
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10-08-2010, 02:18 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 803
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanTwoLakes
Go to a hardware store, not a place like an auto parts store or a power center that repairs snow throwers, etc. You shouldn't have to pay more than $5 for the belt. What size do you need, I might have one that will work. You can have it for the postage.
From what I measured, it's 3/8 by 39 inches. Is that what you have?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10-08-2010, 03:15 PM
DanTwoLakes's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Contact adhesive
Last journal entry: 49 Packard
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lake Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Age: 64
Posts: 5,826
Wiki Edits: 22

Thanks: 0
Thanked 144 Times in 131 Posts
The smallest one I have is 43", sorry.
__________________
__________________________________

No one lives forever, the trick is creating something that will.
__________________________________
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10-09-2010, 12:47 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 803
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanTwoLakes
The smallest one I have is 43", sorry.
Thats the same size I have now. Does that fit your ? If so, maybe i'm doing something wrong?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10-09-2010, 07:49 AM
DanTwoLakes's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Contact adhesive
Last journal entry: 49 Packard
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lake Tomahawk, Wisconsin
Age: 64
Posts: 5,826
Wiki Edits: 22

Thanks: 0
Thanked 144 Times in 131 Posts
No, the belts on my machines are 41". Each individual sewing machine and table combination will make the belt length slightly different. There is an adjustment you can make if you loosen the nuts on the threaded rod at the front of the motor just above the yellow knob. For every 1/2" you loosen the nuts to let the motor drop down, you'll use a 1" larger belt.

Do you know how to measure for belt size? Measure from the center of the motor's shaft to the center of the shaft the pulley is mounted on on your sewing machine. Say that's 13". Double it to make 26". Then measure the diameters of the pulley on the machine and the pulley on the motor. Say the machine has a 5" pulley and the motor has a 4" pulley. Multiply the two diameters by PI, divide each one by two and add the three dimensions together. In this case, 3.1417 times 5 divided by two equals 7.85 inches and times 4 divided by two equals 6.28". Add 26" plus 7.85" plus 6.28" and you get 40.13" You'd use a 40" belt in this example.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0825.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	113.5 KB
ID:	48757  
__________________
__________________________________

No one lives forever, the trick is creating something that will.
__________________________________

Last edited by DanTwoLakes; 10-09-2010 at 08:05 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10-09-2010, 02:06 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 803
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanTwoLakes
No, the belts on my machines are 41". Each individual sewing machine and table combination will make the belt length slightly different. There is an adjustment you can make if you loosen the nuts on the threaded rod at the front of the motor just above the yellow knob. For every 1/2" you loosen the nuts to let the motor drop down, you'll use a 1" larger belt.
I loosened this bolt along with 2 extremely small belts located on the back hinge. This mount is very stiff and will not budge. It took a lot to make it move. Is your like that? The instruction manual is horrible for this thing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Interior posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satajet NR2000 vs 3000 b / 3000 hvlp / 3000 rp Top Secret Body - Exterior 1 05-22-2009 08:34 AM
Bog/Black Smoke on Olds 350 at 3000 rpm JohnTN Engine 4 03-17-2009 11:39 AM
single vs. dual plane- which should i use? WsXs3 Engine 9 02-25-2006 07:35 AM
Reliable Engine Needed 76Monster Engine 30 12-26-2004 04:50 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.