Remeber those subs I bought? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > General Discussion> Hotrodders' Lounge
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-03-2005, 12:15 PM
Ghetto Jet's Avatar
current hot rod: CTS-V
 

Last journal entry: Lets Get Started With the Improvements
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 28
Posts: 1,726
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 10
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Remeber those subs I bought?

I showed you guys this picture about two months ago.

Remember I bought all that stuff for $300 but I didn't know how to hook it up? I got everything installed around mid May. It was really easy to do. It took me about two weeks to blow the coil in one of those 3 year old infinity subs. So I bought two new Infinity 1040's. They sound great. It's pretty cool when my side view mirrors are vibrating. Here's what everything looks like installed.


    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-03-2005, 12:36 PM
killerformula's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Carburetor
Last journal entry: Clean up
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northeast
Age: 34
Posts: 3,485
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 13
Thanked 27 Times in 18 Posts
Nice setup dude.

God, I"m bored today. Sure is cool not to have to go to work tomorrow... and get paid anyway.

K
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-03-2005, 02:49 PM
Nos's Avatar
Nos Nos is offline
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 202
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i have the same amp..

lol its not hard to install..

run your power wire from ur battery..

tap a blue wire (rem wire) in ur wiring harness with the blue wire with a white stripe.. then to the amp..

and at the same time your input and out put wires from ur amp.. look like 2 plugs.. ones usually white and others red..

then ground your amp..with black gound wire

then hook ur subs up to + - and + -

nice setup..

i had 3 subs in my beretta gt.. 2 mtx 10" subs in a slotted box.. plus 1 rockferd fosgate 15" and a closed box .. off one alpine 700 watt mono block amp.. and my mp3 alpine deck

Nos
__________________
N|O|S
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-03-2005, 02:59 PM
NXS's Avatar
NXS NXS is offline
wind & fire = guides to power
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,534
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
do you happen to know what Ohm rating those subs are?
Or if the amp is 2 Ohm or 4 ohm stable?

I may be able to safely double the effective amperage of your system with that info.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-03-2005, 06:34 PM
Ghetto Jet's Avatar
current hot rod: CTS-V
 

Last journal entry: Lets Get Started With the Improvements
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 28
Posts: 1,726
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 10
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/pro...s_id/3838.html

NSX, there are the specs on my sub woofers.



In the manual for the amp it gives watt ratting per channel at 2 ohms and 4 ohms so I guess it's stable at both.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-03-2005, 07:59 PM
NXS's Avatar
NXS NXS is offline
wind & fire = guides to power
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,534
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
That amp has the ability to power 4 of those subs.

If it is 2 ohm stable bridged hook them up like the top pic and if not you can hook them up like the bottom diagram. The downfall to the bottom diagram is that you need four speakers...which could be a good thing if you've got the greenbacks>
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2ohm.JPG
Views:	180
Size:	29.0 KB
ID:	5657  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2005, 01:38 AM
Malibu73's Avatar
'68 Chevelle Malibu Sedan
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Oregon
Age: 26
Posts: 353
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I thought you drove a caprice?

Btw, NICE SUBS!!!

That capacitor must make it really easy on your battery.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2005, 02:21 PM
malc's Avatar
Living At The Speed Of Life
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Espaņa Right Coast
Age: 63
Posts: 3,245
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 86
Thanked 75 Times in 72 Posts
Do they blow the trunk open at full bore ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2005, 06:44 PM
Ghetto Jet's Avatar
current hot rod: CTS-V
 

Last journal entry: Lets Get Started With the Improvements
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 28
Posts: 1,726
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 10
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malibu73
I thought you drove a caprice?

Btw, NICE SUBS!!!

That capacitor must make it really easy on your battery.

I have two Caprices, I drive them occasionally, the Honda is my primary. I drove a little over 30,000 miles in the last year and I don't want those miles on the Chevys.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2005, 06:46 PM
Ghetto Jet's Avatar
current hot rod: CTS-V
 

Last journal entry: Lets Get Started With the Improvements
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 28
Posts: 1,726
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 10
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by malc
Do they blow the trunk open at full bore ?
Nah Malc they aren't that potent. That trunk is pretty stiff though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2005, 07:39 PM
NXS's Avatar
NXS NXS is offline
wind & fire = guides to power
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,534
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Try hooking the subs parallel to each other, then bridge them to the amp, like the upper drawing i showed you {your amp should say which terminals will bridge it}.

Because the Ohm rating {resistance} is cut in half and the voltage stays the same wattage will double.

If you have an AC volt meter I can tell you the real Wattage of the amp also.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2005, 07:52 PM
Ghetto Jet's Avatar
current hot rod: CTS-V
 

Last journal entry: Lets Get Started With the Improvements
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 28
Posts: 1,726
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 10
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
NSX, I'll see what I can do with it tonight, thank you for the helpful diagram.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2005, 09:36 PM
Ghetto Jet's Avatar
current hot rod: CTS-V
 

Last journal entry: Lets Get Started With the Improvements
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 28
Posts: 1,726
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 10
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
NSX, I have a little problem. My amp only has one positive and one negative source for the subs. Your pictures show that I need two of each to make it work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2005, 10:12 PM
NXS's Avatar
NXS NXS is offline
wind & fire = guides to power
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,534
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Is this amp mono? {i don't mean the STD silly!}

If it is it's just fine.

Just hook both + to the + & both - to the -.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 07-06-2005, 09:22 AM
Ghetto Jet's Avatar
current hot rod: CTS-V
 

Last journal entry: Lets Get Started With the Improvements
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 28
Posts: 1,726
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 10
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
yea it is a mono amp.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodders' Lounge posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I bought a MIG daimon1054 Garage - Tools 7 04-15-2005 04:57 AM
Bought a new car RCastle Hotrodders' Lounge 4 11-14-2004 02:52 PM
Just bought a 47 Ford Tudor sedan DANP Introduce Yourself 4 10-15-2004 12:39 PM
I bought a new car! Adrenaline_Fiend Hotrodders' Lounge 16 11-22-2003 06:45 PM
Just bought a 400 thanks to all you guys who helped me stonedchihuahua Hotrodders' Lounge 4 12-01-2002 04:59 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.