Remote Battery Disconnect - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2013, 12:06 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 405
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 402
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Remote Battery Disconnect

Has anyone used the remote battery disconnect whereas the power is killed by a solenoid? Reason I ask is that many of the disconnect switches cause you to drill a large hole through the floor (for mounting). I'm limited for space and need somewhere to mount the switch. Underneath the seat would be nice but there is no room because of the frame, transmission, mufflers, crossmember, etc... the battery is mounted under the floor boards beneath the passenger seat and there is very limited room there, hence the question. Could one make this remote battery disconnect and is it feasible?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2013, 12:38 PM
OneMoreTime's Avatar
Hotrodders.com moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage
Last journal entry: Yard Dog pic
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Washington State
Age: 69
Posts: 7,394
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 54
Thanked 155 Times in 145 Posts
It can be done and I am assuming it is an anti theft issue as the racing rules want a positive shutoff accesable to the crash crew.

Sam
__________________
I have tried most all of it and now do what is known to work..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to OneMoreTime For This Useful Post:
27Tall T (05-15-2013)
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2013, 02:20 PM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,917
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 15
Thanked 207 Times in 187 Posts
Yep - I did it and this is the thread (ya gotta use the search function):

Battery isolator

The drawing was recently updated as there was an error

After over a year, still works very nicely. You do have to use a latching solenoid as a regular momentary Ford style will not work. The Cole-Hersee 24200 is the only one generally available but I am aware of quality problems with them lately, now being made off shore.
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Irelands child For This Useful Post:
27Tall T (05-15-2013)
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2013, 04:40 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,068
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 135 Times in 126 Posts
It is very easy to do, but I'm not a fan of them. I like the old manual switch....... If you don't have room to drill that large hole (I know exactly what you're talking about) My solution in one case was to mount the switch in an unaccessable area inside a alum box, I then drilled a 1/4" hole in the alum box and inserted a 1/4" rod with a split pin installed (it did the same function as the orig key) the rod was about 6" long, and entered the cab just in front of the dvr's seat , it was pretty neat. basicly I made a new key.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to EOD Guy For This Useful Post:
27Tall T (05-15-2013)
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2013, 04:41 PM
Joe G's Avatar
Registered user
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Age: 40
Posts: 601
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 83
Thanked 39 Times in 38 Posts
Here is what I have been using lately. Its a latching or bi-stable impulse solenoid sold through Watsons Streetworks. Trip the solenoid and it turns on and stays on, trip it again and it turns off and stays off. Works with any momentary switch or button rated for 1 amp or more, and it only draws power while the button is pressed.

Much of what I work on are street rods, and one of the neat things about this is it can be made to work by remote control (of course the remote receiver would have to be wired so it gets power upstream of the battery shut-off solenoid). I've put in six or seven of them in the past few years, and haven't had any problems yet.

It's kind of expensive though...$110 + frt + switch
(link)


Here's the rear electrical panel in a '39 Ford street rod I wired recently. The battery disconnect solenoid is in the lower middle.



Hope this helps.....
Joe G.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Joe G For This Useful Post:
27Tall T (05-15-2013)
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2013, 10:16 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 405
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 402
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Thanks for the replies guys! "Irelands Child", I have your schematic but looking at it I notice a 10 amp fuse. If the fuse blows, for whatever reason, then I assume that everything is dead in the car. This means that if you have power doors then you would have to tap from the positive lead (#1) of the solenoid before the fuse, as the power to the doors draws more than 10 amps. Reasoning: You have to get inside because you have a cable release inside the car for your trunk (where the battery and the solenoid/fuse disconnect is) and you have to replace the fuse, which is also inside the car which also feeds the linear actuators that open the trunk. Going through these motions as I have the battery in the trunk and the trunk has actuators. Been caught more than once with blown fuses or dead battery.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-16-2013, 04:45 AM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,917
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 15
Thanked 207 Times in 187 Posts
I didn't go back and fully reread my original post but I have my electric trunk lift as well as the stereo on a bypass circuit which have their own set of fuses. If you were to do this mod on a computer controlled engine, that too would need to be on the bypass circuit.
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Irelands child For This Useful Post:
27Tall T (05-16-2013)
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-23-2013, 07:01 PM
496CHEVY3100's Avatar
Appalachian American
 

Last journal entry: ,
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Appalachia GA
Posts: 832
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 377
Thanked 287 Times in 253 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe G View Post
Here is what I have been using lately. Its a latching or bi-stable impulse solenoid sold through Watsons Streetworks. Trip the solenoid and it turns on and stays on, trip it again and it turns off and stays off. Works with any momentary switch or button rated for 1 amp or more, and it only draws power while the button is pressed.

Much of what I work on are street rods, and one of the neat things about this is it can be made to work by remote control (of course the remote receiver would have to be wired so it gets power upstream of the battery shut-off solenoid). I've put in six or seven of them in the past few years, and haven't had any problems yet.

It's kind of expensive though...$110 + frt + switch
(link)


Here's the rear electrical panel in a '39 Ford street rod I wired recently. The battery disconnect solenoid is in the lower middle.



Hope this helps.....
Joe G.
Can this system be activated with a keyless remote ,as I have a seprate battery for my security system ,so I want to shut down all other electronics
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-23-2013, 07:16 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,068
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 135 Times in 126 Posts
496

Sure, if you have an aux channel in your current alarm system ie..... trunk release, that output signal can be used to pwr a relay that in turn would pwr the solenoid. If the current from the output is strong enough, it could be used to fire the solenoid directly.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to EOD Guy For This Useful Post:
Joe G (05-23-2013)
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-23-2013, 07:24 PM
496CHEVY3100's Avatar
Appalachian American
 

Last journal entry: ,
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Appalachia GA
Posts: 832
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 377
Thanked 287 Times in 253 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by EOD Guy View Post
496

Sure, if you have an aux channel in your current alarm system ie..... trunk release, that output signal can be used to pwr a relay that in turn would pwr the solenoid. If the current from the output is strong enough, it could be used to fire the solenoid directly.
I have three channels left on my remote 2- 5 anp and 1- 3 amp,my wireless has its own relays ,so I could use them to trigger this relay ,Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 06-18-2013, 01:16 PM
Watson's Streetworks
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 496CHEVY3100 View Post


I have three channels left on my remote 2- 5 anp and 1- 3 amp,my wireless has its own relays ,so I could use them to trigger this relay ,Thanks for the help.
There is a kit specifically for what your looking for. You just need a positive momentary output from the remote and it will work fine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Watson's Steetworks For This Useful Post:
496CHEVY3100 (06-18-2013)
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 06-18-2013, 02:12 PM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,917
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 15
Thanked 207 Times in 187 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watson's Steetworks View Post
There is a kit specifically for what your looking for. You just need a positive momentary output from the remote and it will work fine.
Your $110 bucks and up is a heluva LOT more expensive (2x+) then what I spent doing the exact same thing as yours or the Painless Wiring kits ($165 and up!!!) and with an American made $40 Cole Hersee latching solenoid, a $2 Chinese made maxi fuse holder, and a $5 US made momentary switch along with a few feet of US made automotive specific wire. I understand a fair level of profit, advertising and maintaining a level of inventory (there is NO engineering) but 2-300% isn't fair.
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 03-04-2014, 12:45 PM
steve392's Avatar
just passin' thru
 
Last wiki edit: How to title a hot rod
Last journal entry: Willys - Body and Paint
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 273
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
I've been going through all of the remote battery disconnect threads posted here, and this one, although 8 months old, appears to be the latest, so I'll reply here.
Has anyone bought a Watsons/Painless solenoid to see if it is actually the Cole Hersee 24200? The reason I'm asking is this: Nowhere have I found the "surge" rating of the C-H solenoid. Yes, they all say that they are good for 110 amps continuous, but how about the surge current to the starter? I've read that starters can pull upwards of 3 or 4 times that amount.
The only mention of surge current capacity is on Watson's website where they state that their solenoid is good for 750 Amps.
Just curious if anyone has looked into this. I like to save a few bucks just like everyone else and get a C-H 24200, if in fact it is equivalent to the Watson's unit and up to the task.
Thanks for any feedback,
Steve
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 03-04-2014, 03:21 PM
Joe G's Avatar
Registered user
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Age: 40
Posts: 601
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 83
Thanked 39 Times in 38 Posts
Steve, I just looked at one I am in the process of installing and it has C-H molded into the plastic piece and the number '24200' stamped on the other end. So I believe you are correct in your assumption.



C-H's own datasheet (link) does not specify what the intermittent load rating is on the solenoid. But they've been holding up on the cars I've installed them on.

Hope this helps....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 03-06-2014, 05:03 AM
steve392's Avatar
just passin' thru
 
Last wiki edit: How to title a hot rod
Last journal entry: Willys - Body and Paint
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 273
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Thanks for the response, Joe. So, that solenoid in your picture is the Watson's unit? Looks like that's the way I'll be going.
I sent an e-mail to C-H (Littlefuse) to their engineering department but have not heard back yet.
I've got an early Hemi motor with 8:1 c.r., so the starter won't be having to work too hard in spinning the motor over. The starter is the Mopar lightweight Denso-style gear reduction starter. Doing a little research, I found that the started will pull around 175 amps cranking under "normal" conditions.
With so many of these solenoids sold from Watson's, Painless. etc., and never hearing of any over-current problems with them, I'm sure they're up to the job.
Impressive wiring job on that '39...neat and clean...

Steve
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battery, fuse and battery disconnect switch firstgear Electrical 21 05-17-2012 03:27 PM
Battery disconnect switch. rustman Electrical 4 11-01-2011 06:33 PM
Do I disconnect the battery? jjl Electrical 6 01-03-2006 09:07 PM
battery disconnect switch Marcus Electrical 6 03-18-2005 02:09 PM
remote battery, remote disconnect for fuel pump questions. Jared Engine 1 03-16-2004 10:33 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.