remote start - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2004, 12:46 AM
texasfinest1's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: arkansas
Age: 31
Posts: 8
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
remote start

Does anyone here know how to add a remote start alarm to a car without fuel injection? I want to add one to an 87 caprice but people tell me I can't. I have a friend who has one on a 83 cutlass. I would would ask him but he bought the car with it on there already.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2004, 02:23 AM
club327's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: australia
Age: 50
Posts: 334
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What's a remote start alarm? Is it an American thing?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2004, 03:09 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Shreveport LA
Age: 65
Posts: 5,103
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If the car will start cold without setting the choke, it should work. If not, there was somebody talking about adding some sort of solenoid to kick the throttle & set the choke.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2004, 08:51 AM
killerformula's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Carburetor
Last journal entry: Clean up
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northeast
Age: 34
Posts: 3,487
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 13
Thanked 27 Times in 18 Posts
Yeah I think we've all "heard" about the servo/solonoid that moves the throttle to start a carbed car, but I doubt anybody ever has actually SEEN one of these contraptions. Your best bet if you're really wanting to do it would be to just get something that would add some fuel for you before the motor cranks. I guess you'd still have to worry about the choke not working... Personally, I don't want anything tugging on my throttle except for ME. The thought of having an electrial part with partial control over my throttle doesn't sit well... (and let me pre-empt statments about cruise control-a system proven over the last 20 years).

I think its probably more trouble than its worth.

K
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2004, 03:24 PM
Ghetto Jet's Avatar
current hot rod: CTS-V
 

Last journal entry: Lets Get Started With the Improvements
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 28
Posts: 1,743
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 10
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
If it's like my caprice you'll also need something that can pump your gas pedal for you 3-4 times before it starts cranking over.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2004, 03:31 PM
Siggy_Freud's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Age: 29
Posts: 2,371
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Too much hassle on carb vehicles. I suppose you could use it once the car is already heated up and hasn't been sitting for a long period but that about it.
__________________
Bringing history and technology together.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2004, 04:17 PM
68NovaSS's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Working with chromed bolts
Last journal entry: New to me T-Bucket
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nine Mile Falls/Suncrest, WA
Posts: 5,287
Wiki Edits: 9

Thanks: 115
Thanked 139 Times in 130 Posts
I've put remote start on all of my vehicles here in Alaska, and they're great. I use AstroStarts, top of the line and work very well.

On my carburated '86 Chevy truck I installed a Design Tech with their carb kit (part #20036) and it started every time, always on the first try at -20 degrees.

Some people think remote starters are exotic, but in cold country you'll find more cars with them than without, carburated included.

Here's their site, read the FAQ area for more information:

http://www.designtech-intl.com/

Larry
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2005, 09:30 PM
El Chingon's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Orlando FL
Age: 40
Posts: 1
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Anyone have any success adding it on to an existing alarm?
I have a Clifford Matrix 3.5 with the remote start already built into it.
The car is a 1968 carb'd Lincoln Continental. I can get it to crank via the alarm, but it won't sense that the car is running to stop shutting it off and trying to start it again. Any tips or advice other than it is too much work appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2005, 10:10 PM
68NovaSS's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Working with chromed bolts
Last journal entry: New to me T-Bucket
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nine Mile Falls/Suncrest, WA
Posts: 5,287
Wiki Edits: 9

Thanks: 115
Thanked 139 Times in 130 Posts
Is the tach wire connected to the coil? If so, it is probably in the programing of the unit, normally a set of dip switches. In mine (Astroflex) the first four switches determine the level of programming and the next five set the options. You may have to program the RPM limit and or number of cylinders. Most also have an auto-learn setting where you set the switches appropriately, start the car with a key and a series of blinks on the unit tells when RPM's have been learned. You then set the switches back to neutral, tap the brake and it's done. Clifford may be a little different but I would think it would be fairly typical.

You may also have a conflict where the alarm and start disabling feature (if you have that) are fighting one another. The car starts momentarily and the intrusion system senses no key and shuts it down. Any ignition disable feature should be neutralized or bypassed for the start, for normally 2 to 4 seconds, until it's up and running. That may be programmable or require a bypass module. Since the entire system is Clifford I would assume it's built in.

I've had several Clifford remote starters and never had a problem, they're a nice unit.

Larry
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.