Hot Rod Forum banner

Replace existing horn w/ ooga horn?

29K views 14 replies 7 participants last post by  autoho 
#1 ·
I have a 12 volt system and a Harbour Freight ooga horn. I want to replace my stock horn with the ooga horn. I have a GM column with a LeCarra wheel. I removed the old horn, and there is only one "connection" on it, which is a wire going to it labeled "HORN". The ooga horn has both a + and a - connection. So I connected the "HORN" wire to the + on the ooga, but it does not work. Do I need to add something else to the - connection? I have seen messages with relays and flip switches, bit I really just want to disconnect one horn and install the oooga so it works with the horn button. I am a newbie to this, can you help?

#4 ·
what does the relay do? I assume I just run the positive "HORN" wire to the positive relay, then a positive out to the positive ooga, and another wire from the negative ooga to a grounding point ( i.e. the frame? ) Or do I need to involve the relay in the negative connection?

#5 ·
To wire horn relay...

Using common 20 Amp driving light relay...
Terminal 85 goes to 12 v source from old horn. Existing wiring OK to use.
Terminal 86 goes to new ooga horn + using 12 ga wire.
Terminal 87 goes to horn ring to ground when horn button is pushed, existing wirink OK to use.
Terminal 30 fused to battery. Use 12 ga wire.
Ooga horn - to ground using 12 ga wire

#6 · (Edited)
Doc here, :pimp:

In answer to your question:

A Relay allows you to control high current devices with a very small amount of current safely, and (if the wires are properly gauged and fused) deliver more current to the end user device with less or no heat loss through the relay device..

A relay is a two fold device, though both sides are separate and isolated, operate in concert to activate the relay contacts.