Hot Rod Forum banner

Replacing Floor Boards - No Welding

12K views 8 replies 7 participants last post by  baddbob 
#1 ·
I am in the process of restoring my first car, which is a 1980 Camaro Z-28. The car is in decent shape, with the only rust / rot being the floor pans and trunk extensions.

Having spoken to a number of body shop Owners that I know personally, they are recommending that rather than use a welder, I should utilize the new adhesives on the market.

I reviewed some of the threads and have gained alot of knowledge, but I'm hoping that someone remembers a thread on the installation of panels with adhesives that I haven't found yet.

I appreciate the help if someone can direct me in the right directions, either through a thread link or directly to this thread.

I am very new to this, but have basic mechanical ability as well as a great knack at "encouraging" my more knowledgeable friends (who also encourage" me to do contracting work!

Thanks for your time,

Tay

#3 ·
The panels are rusted through. The shop owner (several different shop owners, actually) have said that all new panels are adhesive installed, which is a two part "epoxy" of sorts. They do apply the product, install the panel, and then temporarity screw the panel down to the underlying layer. When it is cured (which depends on the type of epoxy), they remove the screws, fill the holes, and then seam seal.

The other part of the question is how well do the panel offset flange tools work? I think that it would make sense to offset the body and lay the new panel "into" the recess. Any comments?

Thank again,

Tay

#4 ·
This is a very easy procedure and the adhesives to use will be Duramix 60 min or the Fuzor 60min working time cartages, 3M has one but its a three layer process and a waste of time and money so don't use it. I always do full panels to the factory edge so not quit sure what you mean by wanting to flange.