Replacing the Timing Chain '64 Ford 390 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2005, 08:59 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Replacing the Timing Chain '64 Ford 390

Hey guys,

Pretty novice here with the motor, but I'm getting better.

I've recently replaced the points and set the timing, but I am finding that the engine seems to go out of tune really fast. It will be running great one day, then I'll start it up the next and she's running rough again.

My friend said that it sounds like a worn timing chain, and with 90+K I wouldn't be surprised a bit.

Can anyone point me towards a good article re: timing chain replacement on a '64 ford FE 390?

Thanks

B

Advertisement
Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-22-2005, 10:43 AM

Last photo:

390 timeing chain

go to the local library and copey the pages frome a manual. the fes ar very easy to change dont have to drop the pan. justloosen the bolts 2 rows behind front cover good luck
Old 05-22-2005, 12:28 PM

Last journal entry: better comparison before and after shots
Last photo:

• rotate motor to tdc #1 cylinder, (passengers' side front is #1.)
  • unbolt the fan shroud.
  • unbolt and remove the fan. now the shroud will come out.
  • remove the water pump.
  • loosen and remove the harmonic balancer.
  • take a screw driver and pry the key way out of the crankshaft, allowing the crank spacer to come off the crank. might need to use a little light hammer persuasion to get it moving.
  • remove the timing cover bolts. don't forget the 4 or 5 that enter from the bottom of the oil pan.
  • unbolt the fuel pump eccentric
  • slide the old timing set off.
  • clean up the front end.