Reworking heads questions - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2011, 12:28 PM

Last journal entry: First Entry 82' Camaro Z28 Project
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Reworking heads questions

Is there a definitive way to tell if a head needs a valve job? I have never worked a head before but am learning and have been reading extensively about it for a few days.
I picked up a used 98 Vortec long block with 114k said miles and have been going over one of the heads, cleaned it up and lapped the valves and everything looks okay. I don't know about the angles but so far the seats and faces are within spec width wise and the valve stem run out is too. The thing looks good but I was hoping for some guidance still.

I observe valve stem play from side to side in the guide but when measuring across the head as per the FSM it is within specs. Is this a problem?

The valve stems according to what I read should be .343 and what I'm measuring is .340, granted i'm not using top line tools for this.

After lapping (tried for learning sake on this one) everything cleaned up nice, after reassembling and putting rubbing alcohol in the chambers to check leaks there is very minimal leakage toward the intake side of some exhaust valves. I let it sit overnight and it hasn't been enough leakage to cause a drop to leak out but it's wet. No leakage on intakes.

I was reading that up to 30% leakage on exhaust is ok and the compression stroke will aid that. Will I be okay to let the valves seat a bit more when the motor runs or am I past the line of being okay on this one?

Long post sorry, just a lot of questions. Thanks

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement