Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board - View Single Post - Rochester Quadrajet 4MV Carburetor: Removal, Disassembly, Rebuild (Rookie Level)
View Single Post
Old 03-31-2011, 12:58 AM
"But how do it know?"

Last wiki edit: How to rebuild a Rochester Quadrajet 4MV carbureto... Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 132

Hey Bullsnipe,
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullsnipe
Hi, I am a former California Smog Tech. I moved from the Left Coast in 1998 so I have been out of the loop for some time. I understand the Tech not wanting to "Pretest" We were required to scan the barcode on our license before we could start the test. We were required to manually exercise the EGR valve and note a drop in RPM. I know that 12 years ago that behind closed doors the test could be faked. You test a good vehicle but enter the data for the vehicle you want the cert for. We had manuals that specified all the smog equipment that was required. When in doubt, the customer would have to take his vehicle to a Cal Referee.
The tech took one look under the hood and, after realizing that there was no EGR, pulled out a thick book and looked up my truck. I'm not sure under which specific model he searched (C/K 10/20 etc) but for the 350 engine, he said there should be an EGR. I took his word as final answer because I've known him for so long, and he seemed dead set against testing my truck. But now I believe it is a good idea to try another shop. Not sure who the refs are but I'll ask.

As to the pretest, it is advertised at their shop as an available service in case the owner thinks the vehicle might fail. Kind of like a practice test I suppose to see where someone is weak at. Then again, as jaded as the tech has become, he could've just been having one of those days.

Thanks, I appreciate the tips and info Bullsnipe! And welcome to the site!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cobalt327