Roll Bar Question! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-19-2008, 01:17 PM
VW makes it, Chevy shakes it..

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Roll Bar Question!

Hey guys, I'm new to fabricating a roll bar and have some questions. I understand the basic NHRA standards but when does NHRA standards actually apply (I'm located in Housto, Texas) to the roll cage you have in your vehicle? The intention of my cage will be to help strengthen the chassis up and for protection. The roll bar will be 8 points. My vehicle will be mainly street and will see the track on nights called "Safe Street Night". So I don't actually intend on competing, just having fun with it.

Also, I found some donor 1.75" x .125 steel tubing that has one 180 bend (think of a u bolt) and I was thinking of possibly using it by cutting it in the middle of the bend and welding the needed length to make it my main hoop. Is this a good / practical idea if I don't intend on using my vehicle for competition?

Thanks!

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-19-2008, 01:33 PM

Last journal entry: Free tires
Last photo:

You can't (rules) and shouldn't (safety) use spliced tubing.
Continuous runs only.
Old 05-19-2008, 01:49 PM

Last photo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by 428ho
You can't (rules) and shouldn't (safety) use spliced tubing.
Continuous runs only.
Makes sense to me! Thanks! I'll just get some 1.75" .125 tubing bent at a muffler shop or a machine shop.
Old 05-19-2008, 01:51 PM
It'll go, or it'll blow...

Last photo: