running rich - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2011, 08:40 PM
badknuckles's Avatar
you talkin to me?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: fort lewis, wa
Age: 34
Posts: 1,109
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
running rich

after swapping the cam my firebird runs rich, i have tried retarding the timing in which the car starts to stumble so i advance it again.
since it is tbi nothing to adjust there. soooooooo???? huh

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2011, 08:45 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Arkansas
Age: 51
Posts: 298
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Sound like you need some programming changes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2011, 08:48 PM
badknuckles's Avatar
you talkin to me?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: fort lewis, wa
Age: 34
Posts: 1,109
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
im hoping not, i had the cam custom made. they said the cam is as big as i can go with no additional changes.
450 461 lift
203 209 duration
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2011, 08:57 PM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 60
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 598 Times in 547 Posts
Is the vacuum at idle close to what it was before the cam change? If anything it will need MORE initial timing, not less.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2011, 09:00 PM
badknuckles's Avatar
you talkin to me?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: fort lewis, wa
Age: 34
Posts: 1,109
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i will have to check the idle first thing in the morning for sure, good call
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2011, 09:13 PM
sqzbox's Avatar
My pipes are my music
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: indiana
Age: 64
Posts: 2,938
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
What year firebird is it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2011, 09:38 PM
badknuckles's Avatar
you talkin to me?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: fort lewis, wa
Age: 34
Posts: 1,109
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
91 305 tbi
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2011, 09:41 PM
badknuckles's Avatar
you talkin to me?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: fort lewis, wa
Age: 34
Posts: 1,109
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
white smoke rich or lean?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2011, 09:54 PM
sqzbox's Avatar
My pipes are my music
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: indiana
Age: 64
Posts: 2,938
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by badknuckles
91 305 tbi
I hope you know that if you have the ESC (electric spark control) system you need to disconnect the connector in the wire loom on the firewall before making any changes to the initial timing with a timing light. Instructions should be on a sticker on the underside of the hood or radiator support bracket. Failure to do that will have your initial timing 20-25* retarded even though it looks right on the balancer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2011, 11:37 PM
badknuckles's Avatar
you talkin to me?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: fort lewis, wa
Age: 34
Posts: 1,109
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
duh of course i knew that!
where is this connector?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2011, 11:43 PM
badknuckles's Avatar
you talkin to me?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: fort lewis, wa
Age: 34
Posts: 1,109
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
so i uplug the esc, set the timing and then plug it back in?
won't the esc just reset the timing once i plug it back in?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 04-30-2011, 12:28 AM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 60
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 598 Times in 547 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by badknuckles
duh of course i knew that!
where is this connector?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 04-30-2011, 06:18 AM
sqzbox's Avatar
My pipes are my music
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: indiana
Age: 64
Posts: 2,938
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by badknuckles
so i uplug the esc, set the timing and then plug it back in?
won't the esc just reset the timing once i plug it back in?
To question 1, yes

To question 2, yes, but it will be right.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 04-30-2011, 01:19 PM
badknuckles's Avatar
you talkin to me?
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: fort lewis, wa
Age: 34
Posts: 1,109
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i get the concept, unplug it so the computer doesn't reset the timing while i am adjusting it.
what i don't get is, if the computer adjust's the timing. when i plug it in won't it just go back to where it would have regardless?
does that make any sense?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 04-30-2011, 05:10 PM
sqzbox's Avatar
My pipes are my music
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: indiana
Age: 64
Posts: 2,938
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by badknuckles
i get the concept, unplug it so the computer doesn't reset the timing while i am adjusting it.
what i don't get is, if the computer adjust's the timing. when i plug it in won't it just go back to where it would have regardless?
does that make any sense?
No. The computer will adjust the timing from the info it get's from the sensors.
Temp. O2, air flow, and a host of other info. The initial timing has to be set with the control un hooked so it's not trying to change anything while your setting it. Once you set the initial and plug the connector back in, the computer takes over adjusting the spark timing for optimum performance and emissions levels just as it adjusts the fuel ratio for best mileage.
When you set the initial with it un plugged, shut the engine off, plug it back together and start it. Re-check the timing now and see what happens. Do not un plug the connector and plug it back together with the engine running.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q-jet running too rich bigdog7373 Engine 4 08-13-2010 05:19 PM
running too rich? runn141 Engine 4 08-13-2008 04:07 PM
Still running rich 77ChevyBigTen Engine 5 07-11-2006 04:21 PM
still running rich Blob Engine 0 06-22-2004 09:52 PM
Rich Running 400 Sbc Help !!!!!!!!!! Sampson Engine 4 07-01-2003 10:18 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.