Rust treatment products - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-06-2008, 02:51 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Rust treatment products

I'm new here and have been reading a few old threads...some very long old threads. Seems the general consensus is to sandblast/patch/epoxy for permanent results. I'm a very amateur mechanic with limited tools and limited experience (and, unfortunately, limited funds). I don't disagree that "miracle cure" rust products probably won't be the best way to do it (ideal case), but also feel sometimes it might be the only way.

The major rust problem I'm dealing with right now is between two layers of sheetmetal that are spot-welded together. Physically removing the rusty areas will be very difficult and expensive. I want to do as much work as possible myself, and don't think I have the skills to do it.

So, long story short, I have ordered a few different rust treatment products and I'm hoping someone can offer advice or experience.

I've tried POR-15 and find it to be a weird product, possibly because I'm not using it correctly? I've applied it over rust bubbles on exterior paint (temporary fix until I can get to the rest of the body). I first cleaned the surface, then ground down to clean metal, cleaned again, then applied the POR-15. It tends to brush on smoothly, but then a few minutes later, small air bubbles will rise to the surface. It dries hard and seems like a durable finish but the label says it isn't UV stable.

I've now ordered some Eastwood Rust Encapsulator (saw an article on their website comparing it to POR). Also ordered some MasterSeries silver primer from http://www.masterseriesct.com/home.html