Rusted hood! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-20-2006, 06:05 AM
ATA Welding Technology

Last wiki edit: How to rebuild an engine Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 1

Rusted hood!

I just got a 1979 GMC pickup this weekend and the hood has alot of rust. At this point it "appears" to be surface rust on just the top side. I'm going to strip the entire top side to bare metal. I've never done any body work or painting before, but I would like to get a good coat of primer on it afterwards, that will stand up to the elements. This is just going to be a beater truck, so it doesn't have to be fantastic.
What I have available to use is the Sears paint gun in the picture, that I bought for $8 at a thrift store, and a weak Coleman compressor. I have to wait on the compressor after about the second bolt, when I'm using my air ratchet. The only place to paint it in is my semi-enclosed attached carport, and I don't want to paint my house.
Now comes my questions. Will a weak compressor and a inexpensive gun spray primer? If so, what products should I look at? Or should I just use rattle can primer? Again, if so, what products should I look at? These are pretty much my only two options.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	100_2354.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	177.7 KB
ID:	14219  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-20-2006, 06:21 AM
Lost in the 60's

Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 4

My understanding is that most primers absorb moisture ,so that would not be good to protect it from the elements. Your best bet would be to prime and paint it.
Old 08-20-2006, 08:14 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0