S10 V-8 tranny problems - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-29-2007, 03:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 9
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
S10 V-8 tranny problems

Hey guys I put an 84 305 in my 95 S10 which has a 4l60 and it wont shift out of 3rd gear. Is there anything I can do by way of wiring the tranny or something to fix it?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-29-2007, 05:48 PM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: How to title a hot rod Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: West Virginia
Age: 25
Posts: 3,393
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 16
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
is it the 4l60 or 4l60e?
Shane
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-29-2007, 07:53 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 9
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I believe its just a 4l60. Whichever one comes stock on a 95 s10 4x4.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-29-2007, 07:57 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: canada
Posts: 565
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
4L60E which needs a controller to work
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-29-2007, 10:50 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,181
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 416
Thanked 107 Times in 103 Posts
a 1995 S-10 would have a 4L60E trans as mentioned....... If you are saying the trans is stuck in 3rd gear with the shifter in "D" that would be correct IF there is no power to the trans.

Default gear is 3rd in this trans IF it is unplugged from the PCM
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2007, 04:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 9
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So yeah it is stuck in 3rd gear cuz its supposed to be there. So how would I make it work with that old of an engine? Oh and by the way when it comes to trannys Im pretty much retarded so explain it to me like Im a 5 year old child.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2007, 05:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 9
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Would this make it work correctly?

http://store.summitracing.com/partde...5&autoview=sku
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2007, 07:09 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: canada
Posts: 565
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
no. thats an electric shift kit. you need a tranny controller

you need this http://store.summitracing.com/partde...5&autoview=sku which is $689.95 and this to go along with it http://store.summitracing.com/partde...0&autoview=sku another $199.95 . you can get a rebuilt 700r4 for less then that and it will handle the V8 for years without a problem
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2007, 07:38 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,181
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 416
Thanked 107 Times in 103 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IbanezPunk129

Since you have no clue what is going on here;

The 4L60E trans is electronically controlled shifts and pressures by the on board computer of the vehicle.

You must have unhooked the trans or cut the wires on the 1995 S-10 that would feed the trans information.

You can buy an expensive stand alone computer www.compushift.com or buy a regular 4L60 trans that is not computer shifted / controlled . There is a TV cable on a non computer 4L60 and that TV cable MUST be hooked to the carb / EFI with correct geometry and pull on the TV cable for the 4L60 trans to operate correctly.

You will also need to address the lock up clutch of the converter for proper operation. That is easy , there are kits to aid in that setup if you need

Good luck.

Post back when you can.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2007, 07:41 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 9
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a th350. Would it be a smart idea just to throw that in there. That would make my rpms a bit high tho right?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2007, 08:10 PM
runn141's Avatar
SB S10
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,258
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 21
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IbanezPunk129
I have a th350. Would it be a smart idea just to throw that in there. That would make my rpms a bit high tho right?
no higher than what they are now in 3rd gear.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2007, 08:52 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: indianapolis in
Age: 72
Posts: 29
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
controller

call summitraceing tell them what you have,they have a self install kit that is fery simple to install i think the kit is around $60.00 good luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2007, 08:56 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,181
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 416
Thanked 107 Times in 103 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by IbanezPunk129
I have a th350. Would it be a smart idea just to throw that in there. That would make my rpms a bit high tho right?


A t-350 will not directly bolt into place. Different length case between a t-350 & the the 70 / 4L60 , output shaft from the back of the case is different length.

Move cross members, change drive shaft lengths.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2007, 10:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 9
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
A mechanic told me that if I changed the valve body out with one from a 700r4 or a 4l60 it would take the electric shifting out of the picture. Would that work?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2007, 10:25 PM
runn141's Avatar
SB S10
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,258
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 21
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crosley
A t-350 will not directly bolt into place. Different length case between a t-350 & the the 70 / 4L60 , output shaft from the back of the case is different length.

Move cross members, change drive shaft lengths.
everyone i converted didnt need any changes, i used the same driveshaft and crossmember unless he uses a long tailshaft 350turbo.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did Isuzu use same 5 speed tranny as S10? shad88 Transmission - Rearend 2 06-23-2006 06:58 PM
F250 Tranny Problems spcaller Transmission - Rearend 2 03-10-2005 08:00 AM
TH350 Shifting Problems SmBlokS10 Transmission - Rearend 4 01-14-2004 08:19 PM
83 Z28 700r4 Tranny Problems Help! ZBAILEY Transmission - Rearend 2 11-09-2003 09:26 AM
Pulling motor/ tranny 66 C10 66thom Engine 6 10-27-2003 10:46 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.