Safety switch question - Page 2 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:38 PM
bracketeer's Avatar
489 Lemans
 

Last journal entry: Street Legal
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Courtenay, BC, CehNehDeh
Age: 55
Posts: 2,139
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
The safety switch in an OEM column is mechanical not electrical. There are two notches cut into a plate. If the shifter is not in one of these notches (park or neutral). The key won't turn.

The safety switch on a floor shifter is electrical. There are generally two. One for park and one for neutral. If one of the switches malfunctions. You can start the car in the other position.

I assume you have a button or a key on the dash. There should be a wire running from your start switch to the solenoid and another to the distributor. You cut into the wire running to the solenoid and put a switch on that line.

I would say any aftermarket column with a built in switch would be electrical. The solenoid wire would from the start switch then to the column and back to the solenoid.

    Advertisement
__________________
[URL]http://members.shaw.ca/g.body.building[/URL]
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 09-06-2005, 05:48 PM
rrmccabe's Avatar
GM Muscle
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Des Moines, IA
Age: 53
Posts: 518
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bracketeer
The safety switch in an OEM column is mechanical not electrical. There are two notches cut into a plate. If the shifter is not in one of these notches (park or neutral). The key won't turn.

The safety switch on a floor shifter is electrical. There are generally two. One for park and one for neutral. If one of the switches malfunctions. You can start the car in the other position.

I assume you have a button or a key on the dash. There should be a wire running from your start switch to the solenoid and another to the distributor. You cut into the wire running to the solenoid and put a switch on that line.

I would say any aftermarket column with a built in switch would be electrical. The solenoid wire would from the start switch then to the column and back to the solenoid.
I have worked on hundreds of cars (literally) with electrical NS switches on the column. There are tons of them out there.

These mount on top of the column and has a tab that goes down in column. When the shifter sleeve rotates it moves the switch.

Back to the original topic. I would go for one of those francis kits someone mentioned.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 09-08-2005, 05:13 PM
Member
 

Last journal entry: JB's 37 Pickup
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Smoky Mountains
Age: 76
Posts: 2,358
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Lokar offers one as well. We installed one on a 72 Chevy PU when puting in a 700R4. I am using Lokar on my Coupe and one supplied with a Geni Shifter in my PU. What ever you do, get one that works in neutral and park. It can be a pain to have to come to a complete stop and put the vehicle in park to start it.

Trees
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 09-08-2005, 07:49 PM
bg's Avatar
bg bg is offline
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 139
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I am looking at a LOKAR switch, but cannot get an answer about the bracket that comes with the switch. I need to know if the switch and bracket can be used with a transmission that already uses the "cable shift" that Lokar also makes. The bracket almost looks the same and mounts to same place on the bottom using the tranny bolts???

I guess i will try and order and cross my fingers....


Thanks
Bg
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2005, 08:20 AM
primerat's Avatar
New Member
 

Last journal entry: GAS PUMP
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Canada west coast
Posts: 26
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
re: switch

I used a micro switch and made bracket on the trans pan and a tang on the trans shifter arm so it completes a circuit when your in park. B&M sell them for under $10.00 bucks Lokar is a lot more. Thanks AL
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 09-20-2005, 04:43 AM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
NS Switch

Doc here,

Look where your backup light switch is on the tranny, usually this is a SHARED switch on some model Transmissions.

Has 4 sets of contacts, 2 for backup lights, and 2 for neutral safety switch.

Not all have this, and I'm not totally sure on the R700, and I believe it is year dependent..

Best way to tell is crawl up under there and with an inspection light look for a plug ( sender ) coming out of the transmission somewhere close to the linkage arm with no wires going to it.

HOWEVER I did a Web search and most GM 70's to 80's.. A/T's STOCK<--READ) use a column combo switch that looks like this, and snaps into the lower column

.................................................................................................

So you may have to fabricate one if you don't have a spot to mount it with an arm extending from it.

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 10-04-2005, 01:20 AM
snkbyt's Avatar
ASE Master
 

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Salem, Oregon
Age: 62
Posts: 245
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BG, Search " Dakota Digital "Web page they make digital gauges for streetrods. I use them on all my cars, 6 now. The GSS100 is a potentiometer that mounts on any automatic>sends a signal to an easy to program neutral,back-up, shift indicator lights setup box. You can use any or one of the features. It costs right at 100.00. The IDIDIT needs the Dakota and thats what most rod buildres use. All these guys keep talkn early Chev but you said you have IDIDIT. The 700R4 tranny has no park switch on it. It was on the factory column. It doesn't matter cable shift or what? it connects to the trans lever with an i/8" aluminum rod. EASY to connect all of it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 10-04-2005, 03:57 PM
bg's Avatar
bg bg is offline
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 139
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks for the info... I will look at the Dakota web site ...............



THANKS
Bg
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 10-08-2005, 07:36 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 40 minutes north of NYC
Posts: 18
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
how did you make out with your trans saftey switch?

I used the lokar set up .

I am running a GM 454 performance crate motor with a built 700r4.

Lokar has a set up that takes care of the neutral saftey switch and the back up lamps. Its a module that mounts onto the trans pan bolts and has a lever to connect it to the shifter pawl. its then wired into a relay pack you mount in the car/truck and you just run you solinode wire thru,from ignition swith to the relay pack then from the relay pack to the solinode. real simple to install.

the 700r4 also needs a torque converter lock up to work proper and a tv cable to control the kick down and transmition pressure. Did you get that figured out yet?

Let me know if I can help i just completed this on my car
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 11-16-2005, 07:17 PM
New Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Ca
Posts: 11
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Danchuk also provides a neutral safety switch similar to the Ron Frances switch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
safety switch street rodder 1937 Electrical 1 05-31-2005 09:04 AM
neutral safety switch jwash56 Electrical 2 05-24-2005 11:27 AM
Neutral Safety switch Hook-up 39chevy Electrical 2 07-18-2004 05:26 PM
electric fan (Adjustable temp switch) QUESTION 39chevy Electrical 0 06-16-2004 08:54 PM
Ford C4 neutral safety switch 37fordslantback Electrical 1 02-27-2003 04:05 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.