Safety switch question - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2005, 07:14 PM
bg's Avatar
bg bg is offline
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 139
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Safety switch question

I am at a stage in my truck project that i have installed most of all the essential parts needed to drive it and i do drive it . Now i am looking at installing a safety switch so the engine wont start in gear ??? Can somebody point me in the right direction to the hardware that i need...........


THANKS
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0272 (Small) (2).JPG
Views:	221
Size:	71.0 KB
ID:	6734   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0285 (Large).JPG
Views:	239
Size:	138.3 KB
ID:	6737   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0281 (Large).JPG
Views:	265
Size:	138.1 KB
ID:	6738  

    Advertisement

Last edited by bg; 09-04-2005 at 07:23 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2005, 07:30 PM
bg's Avatar
bg bg is offline
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 139
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I did a search and read where you splice in between the start igintion wire going to the solenoid to a switch somewhere on the column?? Do i have to buy this hardware that goes on the column ? I have IDIDIT steering column with a clump of wires coming out.


THANKS
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2005, 07:34 PM
rrmccabe's Avatar
GM Muscle
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Des Moines, IA
Age: 52
Posts: 518
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What do you have for a steering column and shifter? Usually the shifter or column has the switch in it.

Rich
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2005, 07:37 PM
bg's Avatar
bg bg is offline
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 139
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
IDIDIT steering column with shifter on the column and no key in column.

Bg
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2005, 07:43 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Age: 60
Posts: 248
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Automatic or standard transmission? If automatic most of them have the neutral safety start switch on the transmission it self and you just need to wire the switch in series with the wire to the S terminal on the solenoid. If it is a standard transmission the easiest way is put clutch safety switch in so it won't start until the clutch pedal is depressed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2005, 08:02 PM
rrmccabe's Avatar
GM Muscle
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Des Moines, IA
Age: 52
Posts: 518
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Actually, most automatics are in the column. Some floor shift autos are there. Do they offer that switch as an option ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2005, 08:05 PM
bg's Avatar
bg bg is offline
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 139
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Its an automatic and i have no switch on the 700 tranny that i know of...


Bg
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2005, 08:13 PM
rrmccabe's Avatar
GM Muscle
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Des Moines, IA
Age: 52
Posts: 518
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Everywhere I looked online said NS switch is included with the columns.

Are you sure yours does not. Have a slot cut in the top of column for it?

Rich
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2005, 08:24 PM
bg's Avatar
bg bg is offline
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 139
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I will check for the cut out slot tommorrow and see if it has one. I dont remember see it but could of overlooked it. I know for sure it has no switch on the outside of the column unless it is wired internal and included in the wiring harness plug. I can look at my column wiring diagram and see if its wired for the safety switch...

THANKS
Bg
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2005, 09:29 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Texas
Age: 60
Posts: 248
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrmccabe
Actually, most automatics are in the column. Some floor shift autos are there. Do they offer that switch as an option ?
I won't disagree with you, newer transmissions are in the column, I'm still in the 60's and seventies. Torque flights, C-4's and C-6' were on the trans. I didn't know what tranny he was running.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2005, 09:31 PM
bg's Avatar
bg bg is offline
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 139
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a Bowtie 700r transmission................


Bg
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 09-05-2005, 10:47 AM
bg's Avatar
bg bg is offline
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 139
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I looked on the column and no notch for a switch. I also looked at the IDIDIT diagram and no wire for a safety switch. I wonder if the Bowtie tranny will have any kind of switch built in for park safety switch.???

Bg
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 09-05-2005, 11:43 AM
rrmccabe's Avatar
GM Muscle
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Des Moines, IA
Age: 52
Posts: 518
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I looked at their site and looks like some have it and some dont.

I dont know about the particular transmission but I doubt it. Hope someone with experience with that trans will chime in.

There are ways to do it. I MUCH PREFER factory "safety switches" but you can mount a switch off a couple pan bolts that is closed when the shift arm on the trans is in the fully park position.

You with think that column manufacture would make that stock on all.

Rich
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 09-05-2005, 12:34 PM
Deuce's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Choosing a trailer
Last journal entry: Jan 13 2013
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Deuceland USA
Age: 66
Posts: 5,657
Wiki Edits: 6

Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Ron Francis.............the wiring harness guy......has a neutral start switch for you transmission.

It mounts on the transmission.........( and looks a lot better than a bunch of wires on the column )

http://www.parts123.com/parts123/yb....Q24168217736b~

Just click on the above link for a photo and then clink on the photo to enlarge it.....

General Motors made some neutral start switches like these for the Turbo 400's in early vans.........and I run one in a roadster. Works great........and looks good too...especially in a roadster where you can see all of the steering column...


__________________


"I won't be wronged . I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. "






Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 09-06-2005, 04:14 PM
jpelli's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Age: 71
Posts: 120
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ron Frances wire makes a good electric neutral safety switch easy to install and works great. You can go to their web site for more information.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
safety switch street rodder 1937 Electrical 1 05-31-2005 08:04 AM
neutral safety switch jwash56 Electrical 2 05-24-2005 10:27 AM
Neutral Safety switch Hook-up 39chevy Electrical 2 07-18-2004 04:26 PM
electric fan (Adjustable temp switch) QUESTION 39chevy Electrical 0 06-16-2004 07:54 PM
Ford C4 neutral safety switch 37fordslantback Electrical 1 02-27-2003 03:05 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.