Hot Rod Forum banner

sandblasting vs air pollution

5K views 15 replies 10 participants last post by  oldred 
#1 ·
As a practicing fabrication engineer, I want to know if there is any medium to replace sand for sandblasting processes. Now in India blasting by sand is banned as it causes pollution. But we are to compulsorily use a blasting processes to remove rust and scales from light, medium and heavy structures before painting. The surface finish after blasting required is SA2 !/2. I shall be grateful if i can be guided in this matter.

#2 ·
csrao222 said:
As a practicing fabrication engineer, I want to know if there is any medium to replace sand for sandblasting processes. Now in India blasting by sand is banned as it causes pollution. .
Hehe what do they do in a sandstorm :rolleyes: .

Vince

#3 ·
There are attachments for pressure washers to allow media blasting, as well as slurry blasters. The benefits are a dust-free blast, and obvious cooling of the part while you blast. One of the drawbacks is that flash rust can be a problem on ferrous parts, but I think there are other liquids that can be blasted; oils, glycerin, alcohols.

#4 ·
csrao222 said:
As a practicing fabrication engineer, I want to know if there is any medium to replace sand for sandblasting processes. Now in India blasting by sand is banned as it causes pollution. But we are to compulsorily use a blasting processes to remove rust and scales from light, medium and heavy structures before painting. The surface finish after blasting required is SA2 !/2. I shall be grateful if i can be guided in this matter.
I'm curious as to what the pollutant is. In any case, the new "big thing" here is soda blasting, using bicarbonate of soda. Since the soda can clump, the blaster incorporates a special valve that agitates the soda medium. One big advantage is that the soda leaves a coating on the blasted part that will prevent rust for a short period of time. You do need to wash it off prior to painting.

#7 ·