Sanding/Recoating IMRON Clear 500S - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-03-2004, 11:40 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Red face Sanding/Recoating IMRON Clear 500S

I have been reading this forum since I started painting my own cars. I ran into a problems when using Dupont IMRON (polyurethane) followed by the Dupont IMRON 500S Clear. It says you can apply it wet on wet. Unlike PPG and Akzo Nobel Technical instructions, the Dupont does not discuss very well the prep required if you do not spray wet on wet, ie., sand with 600 after 16 hours or whatever. Anyways, I sprayed the clear wet on wet with the solid color. I go some pieces of trash in it and need to sand/buff or recoat to clear it up. If it says to scuff it up, what grit of sandpaper would I use with that. (600-1500)? Was thinking anything above 600 and the clear would not stick. I used a DA sander with 600 grit and tried to buff it back out, but its dull. Should I just be able to recoat it now? Thanks for any help. Opie.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-04-2004, 11:43 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Re: Sanding/Re-coating IMRON Clear 500S

Quote:
Originally posted by flatheadfords