Hot Rod Forum banner

SB 350 or 383?

3K views 19 replies 8 participants last post by  Holder350 
#1 ·
I want to build an engine of 400+ horsepower. I am totally new to this. I'm hoping to gather some useful information here. I'm going to start the project with a 350 chevy block with a 4 bolt main. Here is my main question: Should I get a 383 stroker kit off of ebay for like $600 or should I keep the 350 displacement and build it up with heads, pistons, and rods? What would be cheaper in the end? I want this engine to last awhile and I want to use pump gas with it. I also hope to make a few trips to the dragway with the engine. What is an ideal combination for hopefully under $2000? Thanks

#2 ·
The more cubes you got the easier it is to make power. If you go with the stroker kit, then get one that`s already clearenced since your a novice. If you still don`t want to push it too far, just build the 350 for starters, building a basic 350 is a breeze and would be a great platform for you to learn your skills on.

#4 ·
There are 3 clearance areas that come into question with a 383. If you use 5.7" 350 rods, the heads of some of the bolts will get chummy with some of the cam lobes. There are two ways around this. Either do a little grinding on the head bolts to provide a clearance of 0.050" to 0.080" or purchase a cam that is ground on a reduced base circle so the lobes are further away from the rod bolts. With a reduced base circle cam such as this, you will have to use longer pushrods to compensate because you're moving the lobes of the cam further away from the pushrod end of the rocker arms. You should check rocker geometry anyway on any build.

The second area is the big end of the rod at the pan rail at the bottom of the block where the oil pan bolts on. Again, a little grinding on the block will fix it.