Hot Rod Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

SBC 383 stroker opinions & cam Questions???

21K views 26 replies 6 participants last post by  desmosis10 
#1 ·
Question?????....I'm getting built a SBC 383 stroker I trying to get between 550HP to 600HP or better to the flywheel, I want to kno if used a custom camshaft. For example a 565/585 lift @.050 duration 244/252 and wanted my RPM range between 2500-6800 or 3000-7000 RPM is it possible to get it with a cam like this with my SET UP below... I am just respectfully asking for some input if you would? Thks Des

I'm new to this, I have been always into muscle car & performance engines. Im getting built a 383 Stroker going with TRW forged pistons .30 over, Forged Scat I Beam rods , 4130 Eagle Crank,World Products Motown Intake Manifolds Part#061040 rpm range 2500-7500 , Airflow Research (AFR) 1103 - AFR 210cc SBC Eliminator Competition Heads. I swapped the solid roller 710lift springs for the 650lift hyd roller springs cause of a hyd roller cam I want to go with...
Compression between 10:5:1 to 10:8:1[/B

The HYD Roller cam I have with this set up now is a Lunati Voodoo cam.... How much Hp could I have with just keeping this cam
•Advertised Duration (Int/Exh): 282/290
•Duration @ .050 (Int/Exh): 231/239
•Gross Valve Lift (Int/Exh): .535/.550
RPM Range 2500-6500
108 Lobe sep

See less See more
#3 ·
I called Aed Peformance Carburetors & Quick Fuel Carburetors..... They keep telling me to go with a 750 carb don't really kno why tho .. It's a STREET/STRIP engine build more on the street tho. I Just want a mean street Machine that have STREETABILITY & and if I can get good Gas mileage that would be a big PLUS too.

The headers I want to go with are Schoenfeld Headers
PART#187 ARE $319.95 1 7/8 Primary & PART# 186V ARE $259.95 goes from 1 3/4 to 1 7/8in Primary and seem to be a very very good deal. VS any other G-body specific long tube like Super Comp or Hedman Husler Hedders that's list for like 500+ dollars