SBC Intake leaks need advice on resealing - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2009, 09:03 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

SBC Intake leaks need advice on resealing

Hello guys well my bad luck with my new build on my 350 sbc just keeps getting worse. I was checking my fluid levels the other day and I noticed on my front driver's side water port on my intake has a small leak and I need to take off my intake and reseal it. I have not done this before and this is my first time doing it myself. I know what to do to clean everything up wise etc but have some questions. After I get my stuff all cleaned and put on my silicone beads on the front and back walls and my intake gaskets are on do I put a small circle bead on both the front and back water ports to help seal? I saw an intake done one time and they put the silicone on the intake gasket on the back water ports to help seal but not on the front if that makes sense. I figured you would do all four ports for the water jackets. My intake does not have an exhaust crossover I don't think at least my gaskets don't. I am using an edelbrock performer rpm.
Thanks guys
Eric

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-08-2009, 09:08 AM

Aside from the block ends, you shouldn't need any silicone to seal up the intake.
Take a good look at them for porosity or corosion, then put a straight edge across to make sure it's straight there. Other than those possibilities, it shouldn't be any problem to seal them up with just a good gasket.
Old 09-08-2009, 09:42 AM

Last photo: