sbc thrust plate - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2012, 05:50 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

sbc thrust plate

This is the first time I have posted a question on this site but really need to know. I'm building a sbc 421 and can't figure out the thrust plate deal. I guess I ordered the wrong one because I had to dremmel out the bolt hole to make it fit. This is my first time installing a factory roller cam.
My question is that I have about .125 forward end play (walk). What is the max end play I can have and is there something I can put on the end of the cam to take it up. I guess that's two question. Any help would make my day. Thanks, confused Charlie.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-04-2012, 06:44 AM

Last photo:

Charlie3030,
I know for certain that there are two types of cam thrust plates with different bolt center dimensions. If it were me I'd probably spring for the
for the other to make sure there is enough support for the bolts, but then again I'm pretty anal about those things. You will probably be ok as long as you make sure to install the cam, and adjust the plate from side to side to get it in the center without any contact with the sides of the cam surface before tightening the bolts, but like I said I'd get the correct one.