sbc torque settings for copper head gaskets - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2011, 01:02 AM
theg's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: australia
Posts: 62
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sbc torque settings for copper head gaskets

Hi all . Just putting some new heads on my supercharged small block chev . Wondering if 65ftlbs is still the torque setting for copper head gaskets . Ive got ARP stud kit and iron heads . Thanks

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2011, 03:13 AM
DoubleVision's Avatar
Not Considered a Senior Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heart Of Dixie
Age: 40
Posts: 10,658
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 60 Times in 57 Posts
If the gasket company that supplied the gasket doesn`t call for a certain torque spec set them to the standard torque spec. If the studs are new, Let the engine run long enough to get it up to temp then retorque them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2011, 08:01 AM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by theg
Hi all . Just putting some new heads on my supercharged small block chev . Wondering if 65ftlbs is still the torque setting for copper head gaskets . Ive got ARP stud kit and iron heads . Thanks
ARP has a sequence that you have to follow to burnish in new threads before taking the nuts down in steps for the final time. To be sure of the torque required, you should look up the part number of the studs you're using, just to be sure if the specs are the same as OEM.

ARP sez: "Sometimes ARP will recommend using torque specifications that are different than the vehicle manufacturer specifications, but not always." So if you're not sure, give them a shout- their contact info is on the right side of the page linked to below.

You might want to read the info at the ARP SITE, like the section The Lubricant Is The Key.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2011, 08:52 AM
68NovaSS's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Working with chromed bolts
Last journal entry: New to me T-Bucket
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nine Mile Falls/Suncrest, WA
Posts: 5,258
Wiki Edits: 9

Thanks: 105
Thanked 133 Times in 124 Posts
Like Cobalt says, ARP studs have two different torque settings, depending on what lube you use on the threads. Do check with the gasket manufacturer, and if using aluminum heads, talk to them as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can you run coolant with copper head gaskets? darkostoj Engine 5 11-01-2010 06:37 PM
Copper head gaskets and O-rings LeadfootBob Engine 1 03-05-2008 11:31 AM
using copper head gaskets 347mustang Engine 3 11-28-2005 11:34 AM
Chevy Copper Head Gaskets Thicknesses Canadian Charlie Engine 1 08-14-2005 06:40 PM
Copper Head Gaskets Canadian Charlie Engine 1 08-05-2005 12:32 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.