sbc wont move freely after rebuild rebuild. - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2012, 05:35 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: louisana
Posts: 225
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sbc wont move freely after rebuild rebuild.

A buddy of mine brought me a crate engine from jaspers that was very difficult to turn over. He told me he traded for it. The guy he got it from took it apart a few years ago but did not mark anything. Then put it back together.I loosened all the rod bolts, and got it to turn. So I started tightening on rod at a time and checking to see if i could turn it. if it turn i went to the next one if not i tried swapping some around. I have the front 4 good. I can get 1 of the last 4 by itself but can get all 4 at once. Do any of ya ll have a secret to help fix this are do i have to just keep moving caps till i get it?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2012, 06:33 AM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Still running strong
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lakehills Tx
Posts: 518
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 47
Thanked 36 Times in 35 Posts
I would of started with the crank first and took a look at all of the bearing then checked with plastagauge. One thing I read was that you should be able to turn the crank without the rods on it with 3 fingers. Then look at all of the rod bearings an plastagauge them.Make sure all the notches on the pistons face the front.Install one rod at a time then rotate the crank one whole turn,do that with each rod an piston.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2012, 07:59 AM
C-10's Avatar
Revolution Calling
 

Last journal entry: Poverty caps live on.
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Nashport, Ohio
Posts: 920
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Another thing to check,

The big end of the rods have a chamfer. The rod bearing is also offset away from this chamfer slightly. The chamfer always goes toward the 'fillet' of the crank. It could be a few of the pistons are installed backwards and the rods are binding because of this.

Put a GOOD straight edge on the crank webs in the block too.

V-block the crank and check run-out.

Mic each bearing and journal.. As mentioned, plasti-gauge..

Etc etc..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2012, 08:12 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: At Speed
Age: 51
Posts: 1,333
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nskeeter99 View Post
A buddy of mine brought me a crate engine from jaspers that was very difficult to turn over. He told me he traded for it. The guy he got it from took it apart a few years ago but did not mark anything. Then put it back together.I loosened all the rod bolts, and got it to turn. So I started tightening on rod at a time and checking to see if i could turn it. if it turn i went to the next one if not i tried swapping some around. I have the front 4 good. I can get 1 of the last 4 by itself but can get all 4 at once. Do any of ya ll have a secret to help fix this are do i have to just keep moving caps till i get it?
Each rod and rod cap assembly is unique once it is machined. Randomly moving the caps around and having the engine run is impossible. The rods were probably marked at one time.
Do you see any markings on the rods or the caps?

This is also true for the main bearing caps on the block. They too are usually marked and install in a particular direction also.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2012, 08:35 AM
vinniekq2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC,Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 7,405
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 291
Thanked 707 Times in 682 Posts
sounds like you might have to take it apart,resize all the rods and check all clearances.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2012, 12:12 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Body
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gastonia, N.C.
Posts: 28
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmsport View Post
Each rod and rod cap assembly is unique once it is machined. Randomly moving the caps around and having the engine run is impossible. The rods were probably marked at one time.
Do you see any markings on the rods or the caps?

This is also true for the main bearing caps on the block. They too are usually marked and install in a particular direction also.

This is correct, trying to randomly move things to get it to turn is not the way to go. You need to measure, measure, measure rods and bearings.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2012, 02:36 PM
BOBCRMAN@aol.com's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Holly, michigan
Posts: 8,084
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 23
Thanked 257 Times in 241 Posts
It is too bad that you have a Jasper rebuild.

Take the rods to a machine shop and have them checked. But, don't be surprised if they tell you that the rods can't be sized to standard.. A common problem with Jasper rebuilds. They are built to Jasper specs. NOT OEM specifications.

Jasper uses almost every core they get. That means some rods are bored oversize in the rod journals big end which require an oversized OD and an undersized ID bearing. Not common to the aftermkt retailers. You have to be real careful and have good measuring tools. When building one of their products. They use some real odd ball stuff compared with what the average enthusiast is used to.

The same goes for main bearings and cam bearings. Very common to encounter +.020 oversized OD/.020 undersized ID.main bearings and .020 OS cam bearings.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2012, 02:42 PM
BOBCRMAN@aol.com's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Holly, michigan
Posts: 8,084
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 23
Thanked 257 Times in 241 Posts
Sorry computer probs. BOB
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2012, 05:21 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: louisana
Posts: 225
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So reading what you guys are saying, it seems the easiest and cheapest would be to just buy a new set of rods?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2012, 05:37 PM
BOBCRMAN@aol.com's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Holly, michigan
Posts: 8,084
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 23
Thanked 257 Times in 241 Posts
Depends on where you take the rods and what their shop rate is.

I get $40.00 to place the correct cap on rod and torque/check rod dimension for eight rods. Most shops around here get $8-10.00 per each to re-size rods.

A new set of rods will also require removal and install on piston. Another charge.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
350 olds Rebuild, WONT start BigMike1972 Engine 11 07-12-2011 09:44 AM
Fresh Rebuild wont start rdub2011 General Rodding Tech 6 03-31-2011 03:40 PM
car wont move after sbc to bbc swap.... rbomar Transmission - Rearend 8 08-18-2010 01:20 PM
454 rebuild wont stay running Ignitrous Engine 2 03-16-2010 08:07 PM
Weights move freely but distributor shaft wont spin Chevy21 Engine 2 11-01-2007 05:07 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.