Hot Rod Forum banner

SBF 347 with rich smelling exhaust

7K views 11 replies 4 participants last post by  JeffB 
#1 ·
New member but been lurking around for a while.
I have a 347 in my 65 Mustang that runs pretty good except for this heavy, rich exhaust smell. At this point I'm kind of grasping for a solution.
347 w/ AFR heads, Pertronix distributer, Air Gap manifold, roller cam 625 AFB carb and headers. I'm not very good with tuning carbs but I had 3 different carbs to try. I tried an AED 650, mech sec, 600 vac sec Holley and the new Edelbrock 625. No difference in the smell, none. I have played around with float levels and idle mixtures with no change in smell. Plugs look a little black but not horrible. I have about 9 in of vacuum at idle. Timing is 18 at idle. Runs and drives pretty good but this smell is pretty bad; wife wont even ride in the car. ANY suggestions are most welcome. Looking forward to hearing from some people that know this stuff alot bettr than I do.

#2 ·
Carburetors are not like EFI, more fuel pressure will not make more horsepower. What it will do is to overpower the needle and seat in the carburetor bowl and allow the pump to blow raw fuel into the intake manifold, creating a tuning nightmare. Carters, Edelbrocks and Rochesters will tolerate about 5 psi at the carburetor inlet before the needle unloads. Holleys will stand a little more, about 6 psi.

Tee off at the carb inlet using short pieces of rubber fuel line hose to connect and run a small copper line or dedicated fuel hose back to the firewall, then up past the hood lip to the cowl in front of the windshield. Temporarily mount a 0-15 psi, liquid-filled, mechanical fuel pressure gauge on the cowl so that you can monitor it through the windshield while you drive. It can be mounted with duct tape, tie wraps or whatever, since it's only temporary until you get the fuel pressure sorted out. Never bring liquid fuel lines or mechanical fuel gauge into the driver's compartment.