sbf hi ram tunnel ram - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2009, 07:09 AM
72fordlb's Avatar
BARN BURNING BIG BLOCK!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: concord NC
Posts: 176
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sbf hi ram tunnel ram

hi im looking into building a ford 302 and my dads friend has a weiand hi ram tunnel ram intake but he said they run like *****, so i was wondering since the intake is big and open on the inside could i run a small cam to get good vacuum or would that not work with the open plane style intake? oh i would match it up with a set of junk yard GT-40p heads and and 30over bore and 450cfm holley carbs.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2009, 07:18 AM
willys36@aol.com's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: How to rebuild a Rochester Quadrajet 4MV carbureto...
Last journal entry: How to change auto shift timing on 200R4
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bakersfield
Posts: 8,388
Wiki Edits: 21

Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
The problem with those things is they are designed for WOT drag racing. The huge plenum is there to isolate the runners from the carburetor. By providing a big volume for the individual runners to interact with, they perform similar to fuel injector tubes. Unfortunately for a street driven car, carburetors must interact with the runners to perform at their best. They can be run on the street but you pay performance penalties to do so. Cam isn't as important as carb size for these things. I recommend you run the smallest carb you can - Holley 390s? - especially since it sounds like you are building a fairly mild engine otherwise.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2009, 07:25 AM
72fordlb's Avatar
BARN BURNING BIG BLOCK!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: concord NC
Posts: 176
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
could i weld in dividers to make the runner meet the carbs?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2009, 07:58 AM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
Quote:
could i weld in dividers
If you need to ask, then unfortunately the answer is no.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2009, 07:59 AM
72fordlb's Avatar
BARN BURNING BIG BLOCK!
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: concord NC
Posts: 176
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh thats sux. thnx
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2009, 08:55 AM
Jake_Dragon's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: New Carb
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida
Age: 49
Posts: 772
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I have 2 390s on my Vette. It doesn't wake up until after 3000 RPMs. Most of my street driving is done between 1500 and 3000 so most of the time I don't use it to its fullest. But when I get on it and wind it out its a blast.
This is my DD so I will have to change it sooner or later.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2009, 12:19 PM
lg1969's Avatar
Google "Tunnel Ram 406"
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bohemia, L.I.N.Y.
Age: 64
Posts: 1,059
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
It depends the rear gears you are using. Your 302 will not produce the low end torque you will need. You will need at list 370 or more gears in order for the tunnel ram to work. A pair of 390's will do the job. Make sure you have a balance vacuum line connected to the vacuum secondary. It will make the secondary open in uniform. You will have to buy vacuum secondary balance tops from holley in order to connect the line.

http://www.hotrodders.com/gallery/sh...hoto/36900/IMG

Last edited by lg1969; 04-13-2009 at 03:57 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2009, 03:13 PM
Jake_Dragon's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: New Carb
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida
Age: 49
Posts: 772
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
You can also get the 390s with mechanical secondaries so you don't have to worry about low vacuum and the carbs not performing.

I wonder how the tunnel ram would work with a couple of throttle body injectors. I guess thats a question for another thread.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2009, 03:22 PM
lg1969's Avatar
Google "Tunnel Ram 406"
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bohemia, L.I.N.Y.
Age: 64
Posts: 1,059
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
Throttle body could work. That is how tune port injection works. It's a glorified tunnel ram.
390 mechanical.......... out of the question.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2009, 04:15 PM
Johan Lokander's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 62
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake_Dragon
You can also get the 390s with mechanical secondaries so you don't have to worry about low vacuum and the carbs not performing.

I wonder how the tunnel ram would work with a couple of throttle body injectors. I guess thats a question for another thread.

I did that on my Chevy 355".Wanted a tunnel ram for the looks but woldent lose driveabilyty.Used a Weland hi ram whith 2xPredators as trottel bodys, welded and drilled the manifold for injektors and used a VEMS ems for both fuel and ignition.Worked well, but the Predators dident even work good as trottel boddys...Culdent gett the RPMs low enuf even whith the trottels kompletly closed, so i change them fore 2xRochesters...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
tunnel ram set up advice/opinions needed please pal Engine 23 03-22-2013 03:53 PM
Tunnel Ram information xntrik Engine 81 08-17-2008 02:15 PM
Tunnel ram carb selection baddbob Engine 2 07-09-2007 08:05 AM
tunnel ram on the street henny496 Engine 10 10-03-2006 05:59 PM
Big Block Tunnel Ram 2X4 Question 74NovaRat Engine 12 01-28-2005 01:22 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.