Scratch built IFS? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2005, 01:23 PM
Rich Lackey

Last journal entry: Rich Lackey is back on Hotrodders!
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Scratch built IFS?

I think I have been around this forum just about long enough, and made enough friends to to ask some stupid questions and get away with it (I hope).

I'm a engineer at heart, and I like solving engineering problems. I have a few of those with my particular project. Some of these problems are legitimately created by a lack of ready to weld or bolt-in kits and parts available in South Africa, and some of them I have created myself.

The retractable hardtop is an example of a engineering problem I created all by myself, but my chassis build up has a few problems created by circumstance more than anything else.

I recently posted a question here about a 4-link (or 4-bar... someone please explain to me the difference?) setup, and the reason for that is because my rear leaf springs are shot, and I can't find replacement new ones very easily.

This also brought into my mind the possibility of cutting the frame rails just forward of the rear axle, welding a crossmember in and rewelding the rear frame rail sections on risers, and narrowed just a few inches so I can fit some bigger rubber in there. Obviously this would require a narrowed axle and tubs to match.