Seal or not to seal - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-29-2012, 01:37 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Seal or not to seal

I am restoring a small pickup, Isuzu diesel. I have been using a single stage urethane. I am a beginner. This stuff has given me fits. I get runs and fish eyes. then I sand it dull and respray the bad spots. Then I sanded the whole truck flat and was planning on fixing the spots where I sanded through, then sand them flat. I wanted to spray clear over it all. Righr now I am ready to spray my last screw ups in white and sand them down,then clear coat. But I got an idea. Can I just spray the whole cab in a white basecoat then clear coat. I am tired of sanding my screw ups in the white urethane. If I can, do I have to put a sealer on the white urethane before the base coat? The paint that I am thinking about using is a base coat made by PPG. It is suppose to be better than Omini. I think he said on the phone it was Shimmin or something like that. Is that stuff any good? I sprayed the white urethane last summer it has had plenty time to dry.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-29-2012, 02:09 PM
Hotrodders.com moderator

Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage
Last journal entry: Yard Dog pic
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 3