Seeking Advice: Installing Fuel Pump & Fuel Lines - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2011, 12:31 PM
Acoustic Rock ... for real.

Last journal entry: About Fusible Links
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Seeking Advice: Installing Fuel Pump & Fuel Lines

I just put a new gas tank in my '54 Chevy pickup truck and now I want to install a new mechanical fuel pump and run a new fuel line from the tank to the pump and carb.

I've never done this before and would appreciate any helpful hints and advice.

I think I've got the procedure for installing the fuel pump clear enough ... but I have questions about running the fuel line.

Do I run as much steel line as possible; minimizing rubber fuel line? Or doesn't it matter much?

Do I go for stainless steel fuel line?

Is it better to run the fuel line inside the frame rail? Or better to run it along the outside of the frame rail? And what's the best way to secure the line to the frame rail?

Much thanks in advance!

Alan

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-27-2011, 01:31 PM

Last photo:

This isn't a dig at you Alan so please don't take it that way. But I would say just answer those questions with common sense answers. Steel will last longer. Stainless even longer. Use as much steel as possible and it will last even longer. I've never done what you are doing but that's the way I'd look at it. Also inside the frame would be more protected. Now that said I will tell you my current project (66 Merc Monterey) the fuel line is made out of some kind of plastic! Looks stock so I guess if the factory felt it was ok to use a plastic line my common sense just went out the window!
Old 03-27-2011, 01:46 PM