Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Garage - Tools (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/garage-tools/)
-   -   Seeking advice on metal fab tools... (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/seeking-advice-metal-fab-tools-128694.html)

71gtx 11-22-2007 11:45 AM

Seeking advice on metal fab tools...

Hi guys, I have been looking around trying to add some tools to the collection to help with building the street rod. I think I'm interested in a Drill Press, Band Saw, and a Tubing Bender. I am a college student so I can't invest in huge equipment, but I want good quality tools that I can potentially keep forever. Here are my questions for each...

Drill Press- I've looked at some in stores but am not sure what kind of HP or amps or any other ratings that will be sufficient for metal working. Or will they all work for wood and metal?

Band Saw- Also have been looking around at Sears, Menards. These seem to be wood working band saws if I'm not mistaking? What kind of ratings should I be seeking for metal band saws? Any special places to look or online companies? (I am looking for vertical models)

Tubing Bender- I haven't seen many other than one manual bender at Harbor Freight. I am going to want to bend tubing for a roll cage, and then smaller tube as well for supports over the driveshaft, etc. I don't know where to start looking for this one??

Happy Thanksgiving :thumbup:

OneMoreTime 11-22-2007 12:02 PM

For a drill press you need one with very slow speeds to drill steel..most of them have multiple speeds...

for the bandsaw most of the metal cutting bandsaws have a vertical as well as the horizontal setup to them..

Try grizzly tools online for some good tools at a reasonable price..

For tubing bender it is either JDsquared..or Pro tools..

Just set aside some cash in your budget and get the tools as you can..I have done that and have a good collection now..

Sam