Self Etching primer vs. epoxy primer - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-10-2009, 11:54 PM
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Self Etching primer vs. epoxy primer

Okay i know this has been talked about so many times but I'm not sure what is right for me.

I am wanting to paint my car a hot rod black (flat black) single stage. I need to take it down to bare metal for body work and rust repair.

What im confused on is whats better???

Epoxy then paint
OR
Self etching then paint
OR
Self etching then epoxy then paint

Im new to paint so please explain things in details thank you

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-11-2009, 11:19 AM
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser

Last photo:

Thanked 1,083 Times in 966 Posts
Well first off, if some of the people were here that used to visit this forum there would be a name calling heated argument on this question. There is a SERIOUS difference of opinion on the subject.

First off, the etch primer is part of most every lifetime warrenty from the paint companies. So YES, it is a part of a good system.

However, some etches have some strict recoat requirements that add a spin. Also, some etches are simply not very good.

To spray a quality epoxy over bare metal is fine and some manufacturers recommend AGAINST using an etch prior to their epoxy.

One thing I can say is to do one panel at a time and don't get overwhelmed with a bare metal car.

Either way, if you followed the manufacturers recommendations in the tech sheet you are going to be good.

Brian
Old 05-11-2009, 03:05 PM

elcaminodragster,