Hot Rod Forum banner

Serious brake problems

1K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  slow ride 
#1 ·
My braking system is all messed up. I need help finding what parts I need to buy.

This is in a '90 S-10 Blazer with a 454 big block

I have a stock factory master cylinder with a 1" bore and the correct pedal ratio. I am not using a combination valve. The front line(rear of MC) goes to a tee and out to SSBC Force 10 calipers sqeezing factory rotors. The rear line(front of MC) goes through a Wilwood adjustable prop valve to Ford 11X2 drums.

The problems are numerous. The rear brakes do not work at all. I've been driving it for a while and the shoes look brand new. The front brakes do not work very well either, but the pedal is extremely firm. The front brakes sometimes seize up, especially the front right. Sometimes the pedal will get so hard I can't even push it and I can hear the fluid boiling in the calipers.

I'd like to switch back to a power setup if a manual can't cut the mustard, but am unsure of the idle vacuum I will have with my new engine combo. What do you guys think? 454 BBC 9.5:1CR w/ Victor Jr intake and Voodoo 282/290 adv dur, 231/239 @ .050 dur, .600/.600 lift on 110LSA. I just want to fix this once and for all. I think a medium sized booster will something around 8".

HELP!!!!

See less See more
#2 ·
It sounds to me like you are holding high residual pressure in the front lines. Your pads aren't backing off when you let up on the pedal and the resulting heat from friction is boiling the fluid. The expanding fluid is taking up all of the travel in your MC causing the hard pedal.

This may be due to the wrong fluid. Are you using DOT5 disc brake fluid? Too low of a DOT number will allow the fluid to boil at a very low temp.

Is there any pedal travel when it's cold? If not there is a mechanical problem in the system. You may have a bad residual valve or too high of a psi rating on the one you have.