Service Engine soon light - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-04-2008, 03:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 1
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Service Engine soon light

Hey guys and gals. I just changed my spark plugs today. I used E3 brand spark plugs. I have a 2003 Chevy blazer. The Blazer runs great, but now the service engine soon light is on. Anyone know why or how I could fix this problem?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-04-2008, 03:55 PM
Henry Highrise's Avatar
Lost in the 60's
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dixieland
Age: 69
Posts: 15,189
Wiki Edits: 4

Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
You will have to have your codes scanned to see what has turned the light on . It can be one of many things. Oh yeh...If you filled up with gas recently...check to be sure your cap is on properly... if its not...this can turn the light on also.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-05-2008, 07:59 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 1
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi, I work with E3 and happened to come across this bulletin and thought I would throw in my two cents...E3 improves combustion and sometimes the computer takes some time to figure out what has changed. Unless you are having noticeable problems with the car, I would suggest driving through a tank of gas and see if the light goes away. Also as "Henry Highrise" said, the gas cap being loose is often the cause for the light...Good Luck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-05-2008, 05:41 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,353
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 53 Times in 49 Posts
The E3 plugs will fire with a diffrent resistance value than a normal plug, computers might not like that and therefor throw a code for the ignition system. I do not belive that ANY spark plug create so much better combustion that it causes off readings with the 02 sensors, that is the only way the computer can sense better combustion, and it's a long shot at best..


check the codes, if it's anything ignition related, the plugs are to fault
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-05-2008, 06:57 PM
Holder350's Avatar
Auto Parts Professional
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Whitesburg, TN
Posts: 1,037
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
service engine soon light is not the same as a check engine light.

IIRC you turn the key ON but dont start the motor.....then press the gas pedal to the floor slowly a few times then turn the key OFF and back ON.

Been a while sense Iv serviced a chevy and needed to reset the light.

Call your local shop or dealer for the correct procedure.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-05-2008, 08:26 PM
carsavvycook's Avatar
My 2 cents worth
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lakeside, CA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,855
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holder350
service engine soon light is not the same as a check engine light.

IIRC you turn the key ON but dont start the motor.....then press the gas pedal to the floor slowly a few times then turn the key OFF and back ON.

Been a while sense Iv serviced a chevy and needed to reset the light.

Call your local shop or dealer for the correct procedure.
The service engine soon is not the maintenance required light you are referring to. The computer will turn this on when it senses any problem that will melt the catalytic converter down. Recent case in point was a Toyota Tundra truck with new spark plugs installed. It came on immediately after start-up and was running with a miss-fire on multiple cylinders. The problem was Auto-lite double platinum spark plugs in a vehicle that requires Iridium plugs. To reset this light you have to disconnect the battery for 5-10 minutes, or use a scan tool to clear the codes and reset the adaptive memory and monitors to factory default.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2008, 08:01 AM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,519
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 6
Thanked 146 Times in 133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by carsavvycook
The service engine soon is not the maintenance required light you are referring to. The computer will turn this on when it senses any problem that will melt the catalytic converter down. Recent case in point was a Toyota Tundra truck with new spark plugs installed. It came on immediately after start-up and was running with a miss-fire on multiple cylinders. The problem was Auto-lite double platinum spark plugs in a vehicle that requires Iridium plugs. To reset this light you have to disconnect the battery for 5-10 minutes, or use a scan tool to clear the codes and reset the adaptive memory and monitors to factory default.
All cars are different in this respect. More importantly, if there are stored codes, OBDII systems will NOT clear the codes by disconnecting the battery. They are stored in non-volatile memory. Some of these codes will reset themselves over a number of start-stop cycles if the problem was intermittent. You need to 1) read the factory manual to understand what system you have and 2) get a scan tool to see what code was set.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2008, 08:26 AM
Holder350's Avatar
Auto Parts Professional
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Whitesburg, TN
Posts: 1,037
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by carsavvycook
The service engine soon is not the maintenance required light you are referring to.
My bad...(brain fart....it was late)

I'm not failure with "E3" brand plugs but I'd say they are the crap that walmart sells off the shelf.

An 03 Blazer calls for a DOUBLE platinum plug, and without them your probly throwing the random multiple missfire code (PO300) Or a cyl mis fire (PO301-306)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2008, 08:36 AM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,353
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 53 Times in 49 Posts
All I know about E3 plugs is that they have 3 electrodes..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2008, 08:43 AM
Holder350's Avatar
Auto Parts Professional
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Whitesburg, TN
Posts: 1,037
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
ANY plug with more than 1 negative electrode is a waste of good metal IMO

the spark is going to jump to the shortest gap FIRST the others are useless.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2008, 10:29 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: chapin, s.c.
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
cel

just something to think about during the process of changing the plugs you may have unplugged something that didnt get plugged back up. just make a quick check of all the engine harness connectors and make sure everything is tight.although the best way to find out what it is is to have it scanned then you will know exactly what is wrong, good luck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2008, 10:29 AM
carsavvycook's Avatar
My 2 cents worth
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Lakeside, CA
Age: 57
Posts: 2,855
Wiki Edits: 3

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Holder350
ANY plug with more than 1 negative electrode is a waste of good metal IMO

the spark is going to jump to the shortest gap FIRST the others are useless.
I have to agree. I worked on a 94 Mitsubishi 3000GT SL that barely passed smog. It's readings pointed to spark miss fire. It had plugs with 4 ground electrodes, which I changed to Iridiums and it cleaned right up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2008, 05:29 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,353
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 53 Times in 49 Posts
I agree, there is no advantage to multiple electrodes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 05-09-2008, 03:04 AM
3rdmember
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Berthoud,CO
Age: 59
Posts: 348
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe_padavano
All cars are different in this respect. More importantly, if there are stored codes, OBDII systems will NOT clear the codes by disconnecting the battery. They are stored in non-volatile memory. Some of these codes will reset themselves over a number of start-stop cycles if the problem was intermittent. You need to 1) read the factory manual to understand what system you have and 2) get a scan tool to see what code was set.
amazing how much people DON'T know and think they do...
so far joe, you're the only one that has a grasp of late model stuff...
btw, i HAVE run into a couple of cars that will dump the codes by disconnecting the batt BUT they ain't domestic...

camarolover could be right also, but my guess is that you cracked a plug or got a bad one (it happens)

my suggestion would be get it scanned and go from there...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 05-09-2008, 03:12 AM
3rdmember
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Berthoud,CO
Age: 59
Posts: 348
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by E3Plugs
Hi, I work with E3 and happened to come across this bulletin and thought I would throw in my two cents...E3 improves combustion and sometimes the computer takes some time to figure out what has changed. Unless you are having noticeable problems with the car, I would suggest driving through a tank of gas and see if the light goes away. Also as "Henry Highrise" said, the gas cap being loose is often the cause for the light...Good Luck.
..and if this were the HAMB, i could phrase this the way it should be......
THAT'S THE BIGGEST BUNCH OF BS I'VE HEARD IN A LONG TIME!!!!
the 'puter does NOT have to "relearn"a different set of plugs!
a tank of black gold ain't gonna change anything.
i hope you are not an engineer for e3 (btw, never heard of 'em but it sounds like the old splitfire crap to me)

want someting to run like crap?
bosch platinums or splitfires will do it for ya...



all that being said, if you filled up with the engine running or left the cap loose, it'll turn on the light BUT so will a 100 other things.
get the codes pulled before you do anything else...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



« 454? | Most Value? »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
this is a saver.... GM build codes TooMany2count General Rodding Tech 24 11-23-2009 09:36 AM
check engine (light) JMEDLEY001 Engine 8 02-03-2007 04:01 PM
oil warning light romaro Engine 3 09-15-2006 09:31 PM
strange engine problem with check engine light brian12c Engine 2 07-29-2006 09:55 PM
Service Engine Soon phil1949 Engine 6 08-31-2003 08:31 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.