Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board - View Single Post - Servo motor versus Clutch motor questions?
View Single Post
Old 01-11-2009, 05:09 PM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last wiki edit: Contact adhesive
Last journal entry: 49 Packard
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 22

You hook the treadle (foot pedal) up to a servo motor just like you do a clutch motor. No, your servo motor does not need to be more powerful than a clutch motor. I replaced 1/2 H.P. clutch motors with 1/2 H.P. servo motors on both of my industrial machines. They work beautifully, and I sew every day for a living. I've been sewing for almost 35 years, and I can't tell the difference.
A servo motor is a constant torque device, so you will get the same amount of power throughout the speed range of the servo. What is the difference between a clutch motor and a servo? The servo theoretically will have less power at slower speeds than a clutch motor, but a servo will have more power at higher speeds. What does this mean for average sewing? You won't be able to tell the difference. The problem with a clutch motor is that it is either on or off. Unless you are willing to spend enough time to be comfortable with the machine, you will still have accidents and screw something up. The servo motor gives you the option of having true variable speed control over the motor immediately. In other words, the less you press on the foot pedal (treadle) the slower the servo will go. The clutch motor is always going at its base speed, usually 1750 RPMs, and you need to slip the clutch to be able to sew slower. This takes a LOT of practice to do it consistently and effectively.