Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Engine (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/engine/)
-   -   Setting Ignition Timing? (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/setting-ignition-timing-189105.html)

StockR 12-14-2010 02:43 PM

Setting Ignition Timing?

Hey guys, this is my first post so cut me a little slack. :)

I recently just got a 1969 El Camino with a SB 350 and a 3 speed automatic.

I am new to the car world and was just wondering how to set the ignition timing with a timing light???

The 350 has headers, high rise intake manifold, Holley 600 and mild cam. Not sure the exact size of the cam though.

I'm also sorry if this question has been asked 100 times before, but why not start a fresh one right?

[IMG]http://i284.photobucket.com/albums/l...ino007/350.jpg[/IMG]

andythedrummer 12-14-2010 04:10 PM

engine timing

Hi, The best hay to set your timing is,#1 put your lite back in your toolbox,grab your vacume gage connect it to manifold for main vac.with your engine up to temp,ajust your dist,to try and get 18 inch of vac, this is the only way I know if you dont have any specs for the cam. If it sounds like its pinging back it off just a little

bubbahotep 12-14-2010 09:35 PM

I have to disagree with the vacuum gage use, some cams wont get 18hg at idle so I dont see how that can be used as a means to set timing

There are hundreds of posts so just search but in general you just need to get the #1 piston (drivers side front) to TDC and mark your balancer or crank pulley for 0' TDC.

If the engine is already in use you might already have timing marks. Connect the light to the #1 spark wire and point the light at the crank pulley. You might see timing marks already there and somewhat accurate

kc8oye 12-15-2010 01:17 AM

step one. .get a bottle of white out, or other bright colored paint.

step two, find the mark on the dampner ring.