Setting Timing at Higher RPMs - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2003, 07:11 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Post Setting Timing at Higher RPMs

My car has a rough idle - - with a 0.52 inch lift cam, I understand that that's not unusual. Other engine specifics: '72 sbc 350. 10:1 compression. Headers. 650 Holley. Accel HEI. Est. 410 hp. Other details: M21 4-speed. 3.73 Richmond gears.

So the question is, can I set my timing by targeting the advance at a higher RPM? Say 1,500 or 2,000?

More to the point, does anyone know how far advanced I should be at about 1,500 RPM?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-25-2003, 05:44 AM

Last photo:

I'm no expert but I've been advised on this site to set my 350 SBC to about 35 degrees of maximum advance at 3000 rpm, with vacuum advance disconnected & plugged. Don't know if this will apply to your spec engine, but it might help?
Limey
Old 04-25-2003, 05:35 PM

Thanks for the reply. I'll try to target 35 degrees total advance (sans the vacuum advance).

I guess I was exaggerating a bit when I said "1,500 rpm," but I don't think I can time it below 900-1000 rpms.
Old 04-25-2003, 05:50 PM

Last journal entry: JB's 37 Pickup
Last photo: