Setting up a "new" computer - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > General Discussion> Hotrodders' Lounge> Off-Topic
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2013, 12:58 AM
Semper Gumby
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 329
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 129
Thanked 104 Times in 85 Posts
Setting up a "new" computer

Well, after I toasted the mobo in my laptop, it was time for a new one. Every one I looked at, had Windoze 8 and I'd do without a computer at all before I'll subject myself to THAT censored mess again!

So I scored a (supposedly) lightly used one and brought it home, W7 system & all. It has everything I want - W7, an AMD chipset (instead of Intel) a big screen, 64 bit system, humongous hard drive, etc

Now for the fun part

So far I have uninstalled 42 games, uninstalled Google Chrome, uninstalled 2 other web systems, installed Firefox, uninstalled, deleted and removed all the pictures files, audio files, video files, the camera, the microphone and the speakers. Next to go will be Netscape Navigator. MSN mail (formerly called hotmale) is now gone, and I am looking for a good replacement for Yahoo mail - which is now emulating G-string - er, I mean Geemale and is annoying the crap outta me on any machine. Trouble is, I need an e-mail that is accessible from anywhere, not just at home, or on my local servers.

When I find a good e-mail, it will go on all my computers, but in the meantime, I'm thinking it will take another day or two of uninstalling and (in some cases, like the camera, microphone and speakers), physically removing stuff to get this li'l beastie to where I want it to be.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2013, 07:20 AM
killeratrod's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,937
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 155
Thanked 332 Times in 296 Posts
well since you do not want msn, or yahoo, or the g thing. or local. you can use AOLmail.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2013, 08:03 AM
Denny's Avatar
34 chevy truck 410 merc power
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Loves Park, Ill
Age: 65
Posts: 745
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 94
Thanked 122 Times in 118 Posts
So, you want more or less, a bare bones setup with mail ? Just do a search for email types...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2013, 10:41 AM
Fang16's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: A little cancer
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Rogers, Ar.
Posts: 216
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Why didn't u format it and start out with a clean disk? No telling how much junk is left on it n in the registry. Even with a clean install I like to use Glary Utilities to keep it clean.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2013, 10:50 AM
Denny's Avatar
34 chevy truck 410 merc power
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Loves Park, Ill
Age: 65
Posts: 745
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 94
Thanked 122 Times in 118 Posts
You might have good luck with that, but, have you read a lot of feedback using that application ???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2013, 10:55 AM
ogre's Avatar
the 'Duracell Project'
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Motown
Posts: 1,291
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 81 Times in 74 Posts
i'd format the hd too. easy peasy. if you don't have discs there might be a partition with the install files
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2013, 10:58 AM
Fang16's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: A little cancer
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Rogers, Ar.
Posts: 216
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denny View Post
You might have good luck with that, but, have you read a lot of feedback using that application ???
Been using it for 4 years and never a problem. Some people have a couple of different reg cleaners that they use n that's what causes a problem. Not to mention that a few anti-virus systems are a joke.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2013, 11:03 AM
Denny's Avatar
34 chevy truck 410 merc power
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Loves Park, Ill
Age: 65
Posts: 745
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 94
Thanked 122 Times in 118 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fang16 View Post
Been using it for 4 years and never a problem. Some people have a couple of different reg cleaners that they use n that's what causes a problem. Not to mention that a few anti-virus systems are a joke.
I understand that. I was simply going by the feedback and I myself have tried a few, and they caused me more trouble by saying things that were not correct, and ended up having to go for my backup to repair it. Here is a few feedbacks about this particular application...
Just scroll down and take a read of the comments. I don't use this one myself, but, I'm not saying it's bad, just that people have problems with it.
Download Glary Utilities - MajorGeeks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2013, 07:15 PM
Semper Gumby
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 329
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 129
Thanked 104 Times in 85 Posts
What I need is a computer that can do a LOT of WORD Documents, presentation docs such as POWERPOINT, a lot of EXCEL and a lot of chart & graph-making stuff. It needs to be able to pull data from many sources, in multiple formats and compile the data without my having to print out a report prepared in one format and re-key it into another. Then it needs to feed a projector for me to present my stuff to the clients.

So far I am finding that I start to have things get noticeably slower if I use less than 640 G of RAM and unless I run a Tb of disc, I am spending too much time swapping out media.

I do not want, nor need any music, or videos, nor any "keep an album of pictures from my last vacation".

My computer needs to be able to websurf for research, run several programs at once and then transmit the proposals, contracts, reports, briefs etc. to other consultants or directly to a client

Yahoo mail was ideal until they "improved it" within the last month to where it now thinks every e-mail between me and a client is part of one extended "conversation" and repeats the "entire conversation" as a part of every e-mail I send to that client. (including attachments as originally attached to "that" note, etc) Now it can take a humongous amount of time & bandwidth just to send one e-mail. If I am using my cellphone as a "hotspot", the charges add up into the OMG range in a second or two.

Giggle's G-String - (GMale?) is just as stoopid and the microsquish system formerly known as Hotmale is just plain dumb

My issue right now is that I am looking at changing providers for Net & phone and (etc) and don't want to send out a "change my e-mail to......" notice and then maybe send another later if I gotta change it again.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2013, 07:58 PM
Denny's Avatar
34 chevy truck 410 merc power
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Loves Park, Ill
Age: 65
Posts: 745
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 94
Thanked 122 Times in 118 Posts
For mail, I have 3. I use livemail, but, it's now Outlook, and seems to work fine. Then I have email from my main site provider through xfinity, and I also have Incredimail. I use Incredimail for the main, and have a copy of mail from each sent to that. That works great for me. (I bought Incredimail way back).
I recently upgraded my system. I do a lot of photos, and they get large, plus, animations, and design work. My slowest hard drive is my main drive. All the others, I use for different things. The video, I run dual cards, that is very important to me also in what I do. As far as doing things faster. Plus memory.
Here's a quick look at what I have on mine. I may increase to a i7, but it seems that things are working fine, with several things opened at once, so no hurry in that area yet. I also use a drawing tablet, which seems to work well also.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	system type.png
Views:	20
Size:	20.2 KB
ID:	94162   Click image for larger version

Name:	hard drives.png
Views:	11
Size:	26.4 KB
ID:	94170   Click image for larger version

Name:	computer performance.png
Views:	13
Size:	29.9 KB
ID:	94178  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2013, 10:17 PM
66GMC's Avatar
Get in, sit down, hang on
 

Last journal entry: Cab Removal
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Olds, Alberta Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 2,761
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 32
Thanked 89 Times in 84 Posts
Hi Dave.
Are you using Telus for your regular e-mail? (I see you are from Vancouver)

If so, they do have a webmail interface. https://webmail.telus.net/ which you can use to access your e-mail from any PC on the web.

That being said, you'd probably want to configure your "regular" e-mail program to leave a copy on the server to allow access to "read" e-mail messages.

As far as the multi-program re-typing goes, I have found a program called "Able2Extract Professional" to work very well at converting and OCR-ing PDF files into Excel, Publisher, Word, Powerpoint, etc.

I'm VERY impressed with the "automatic" setting, and the OCR is very accurate in most cases. I'm running version 7.0, and I see that a new version has now been released (8.0)

Best of luck ...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to 66GMC For This Useful Post:
Dave57210 (10-29-2013)
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2013, 10:33 PM
66GMC's Avatar
Get in, sit down, hang on
 

Last journal entry: Cab Removal
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Olds, Alberta Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 2,761
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 32
Thanked 89 Times in 84 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denny View Post
I may increase to a i7, but it seems that things are working fine, with several things opened at once, so no hurry in that area yet. I also use a drawing tablet, which seems to work well also.
FWIW, I'm running an Acer Predator G5910, i7-2600@3.40 with 8GB of ram, and my scores are not all that much better than yours.

7.6 on the first two , 7.2 on the second two, and the same 5.9 disc access,
which appears to be the bottleneck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to 66GMC For This Useful Post:
Dave57210 (10-29-2013)
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2013, 10:56 PM
Semper Gumby
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 329
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 129
Thanked 104 Times in 85 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 66GMC View Post
Hi Dave.
Are you using Telus for your regular e-mail? (I see you are from Vancouver)

If so, they do have a webmail interface. https://webmail.telus.net/ which you can use to access your e-mail from any PC on the web.

That being said, you'd probably want to configure your "regular" e-mail program to leave a copy on the server to allow access to "read" e-mail messages.

As far as the multi-program re-typing goes, I have found a program called "Able2Extract Professional" to work very well at converting and OCR-ing PDF files into Excel, Publisher, Word, Powerpoint, etc.

I'm VERY impressed with the "automatic" setting, and the OCR is very accurate in most cases. I'm running version 7.0, and I see that a new version has now been released (8.0)

Best of luck ...
I'm actually on SHAW right now, but this is not cast in stone (may change to Telus)

Shaw also has a Webmail interface, but I've not heard a lot of good things about it. (Actually - "would all Shaw customers who are happy with ANY of Shaw's offerings please stand on this 1 inch square?" )

If the use of the Webmail interface will allow me to access my e-mails from other parts of the world, then a lot of my issues are fixed! Thank you! You have opened a new perspective for me!

I have never tried a webmail system - in fact I've never even used the Shaw e-mail addresses (nor interface). Shaw keeps calling me and wanting me to add my home phone onto my current (Internet plus TV) plan, but when I call their tech services to set up a Shaw e-mail account, THEIR phones are out of order! Yup, sure makes me want to have my home phone on their system! (Trust private sector to do the General Motors thing and cut costs to where nothing works! At least Telus used to be gov't so you know it will work!) (and Telus is making HUGE profits so they'll be around for long time)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10-29-2013, 11:02 PM
Semper Gumby
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 329
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 129
Thanked 104 Times in 85 Posts
Forgot to say - my "new laptop" is a Dell Inspiron, hotrodded with a new MoBo based around a Phenom X4 64 chipset and 8 G of Ram plus 1 tb of HDD

Now if only I could stop dragging my shirt cuff on the touch pad and moving the cursor all over the screen, causing my typing to go all to schizzle!

Luckily, I have a plug-in "regular" keyboard that I will take with me when I go off with this thing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2013, 11:54 AM
66GMC's Avatar
Get in, sit down, hang on
 

Last journal entry: Cab Removal
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Olds, Alberta Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 2,761
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 32
Thanked 89 Times in 84 Posts
I bought an i-Pad a couple of years ago, and later purchased a bluetooth keyboard & cover to go with it.

I really like that bluetooth keyboard, and use it with my i-Phone as well.
It's WAY better than having to use those tiny on-screen "keyboards" for things like texting and e-mail.

I've been on Telus (residential phone, "high-speed" internet, and cellular) for a number of years now. The only real complaint I've had is the account password issues.

I call it "Password Hell" as there is no way to be reminded of a forgotten password ... you HAVE TO create a new one ... and CANNOT re-use a previous one. Whose freaking account is this anyway? Grrrr!

The town of Olds has recently been upgraded to THE fastest internet (1 GBps) on the continent, by a community-owned company called O-Net.

Yup, a population of 8,000-ish, and only Altanta, Georgia even comes close to the service we are being offered! The fibre-optic cable has been installed in most of the town already, and many are already subscribed.

It is supposed to be installed in my neighborhood next spring ...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange thing happening with my clear "solvent pop"/"fish eyes" ? myfamiliacc Body - Exterior 35 02-16-2013 07:18 PM
SpeedypcPro "computer fixer" bullheimer Off-Topic 1 07-13-2012 05:59 PM
How to run an "01" FI Motor without Computer? waltrobak Electrical 2 12-19-2011 01:15 PM
wiki pages: "How to rebuild an engine", "Window removal/installation" Jon Hotrodders' Lounge 0 07-11-2006 12:44 PM
Hey croz look """"IMPORTS SUCK""" 78 monte Hotrodders' Lounge 14 08-30-2002 01:13 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.