Setting vacuum advance on SBC HEI - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2010, 07:07 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Setting vacuum advance on SBC HEI

Hello guys I was checking my timing today on my 350 sbc and have done a lot of reading on vacuum advance but there is a few things maybe I am not getting right and want to ask your advice.

I have my 350 with a 260/270 212/218 @50 510/510 lift hydraulic roller cam and I have my timing set at 16 degrees initial and 32 degrees all in by 3500 rpm.

Then after hooking up my vacuum advance to full manifold vacuum I had way close to 40 degrees plus at idle so I knew I had too much vacuum advance for my setup. So I got out my 3/32 allen wrench and changed it to the lowest setting it would go to and the lowest it would go was about 14 to 16 degrees of vacuum advance. Balancer numbers are very hard to read but I get very close within 1 degree.

So at idle with vacuum advance hooked up I have about 28-30 degrees of timing. So if I am reading correctly about vacuum advance and rate etc When I have it all hooked up and rev it steady I get about 48 degrees total. So I take it I have 16 initial with 16 degrees mechanical for a total of 32 degrees and with vacuum advance of about 14 to 16 degrees I have around 46 to 48 degrees total timing when cruising correct?

I was looking at a chart with specs the amount of turns it takes to get said amount of degrees of advance. I had to back mine to its lowest point so I would not have too much vacuum advance. Am I setting it correctly then?
Thanks guys your help is appreciated.
Eric
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-13-2010, 08:11 PM
my KARMA ran over my DOGMA