Sewing Machine Troubleshooting ?. - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Interior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-09-2007, 10:44 PM
Old Phart

Last wiki edit: How to identify a Ford V8
Last journal entry: 27 T Roadster project: Underway cont.
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 3

Sewing Machine Troubleshooting ?.

G'day all.

I have been following along with the Truck reupholstery thread and have been attempting to get my skills to a level where I'm ready to have a go with our F350 seat.

I bought a used Mitsubishi LU2 4410 a couple of months ago and have been practicing on and off with exercises from Don Taylors Upholstery book, including making the stadium cushion........a disaster I might add.

Now I'm not too good with the technical names for sewing machine parts, so please put me straight.

A problem has only just arisen with the machine the last time I used it last weekend. When sewing welt on vinyl (I'm not using a welt foot as I don't have one) the machine has just started cutting the thread on the needle. I'm using a Polyester thread (16 oz?.) that came with the machine. It cuts through a strand at a time, then the thread bunches up on the needle and finally breaks.
When this happens it sometimes drops a stitch. It took quite a few test runs to actually see what was going on. Bobbin thread was also bunching up, but it appears that the problem starts at the needle.

It sews OK on flat items i.e. french seams, flat fell seams etc., just doesn't like sewing welt anymore.