sewing a really old style convertible top - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Interior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2007, 09:30 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

sewing a really old style convertible top

I saw in Dyke's Automotive encyclopedia (12th ed.) a process to "repair tops" for cars like model T's and other touring cars.

My 1915 Olds had a long grain leather. Are there any suitable materials for convertible tops that anyone may recommend?

how should I approach sewing it? can I do it on my wife's sewing machine? and how can I keep it from leaking?

I need to repair some of the top bows. Does anyone know a means or reproducing new top bows while the top is all apart? I think I would want to make all new ones while I am there.

This is my first try, but I have a few more that I would have to do, so I would like to learn how to do it.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

~Joe

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-10-2007, 09:54 AM

Last journal entry: 32 Ford cabriolet conversion/windshield
Last photo:

I'm not an upholstery guy but I have seen what the long grain looks like; on Model A sedan roofs.

The wood bows are a challenge. I ended up using native fresh cut ash wood. I went through a friends wood pile and we split some until we found nice straight grain from a tree that grew straight and did not twist. When you split it and it ends up like a flat surface, then you can run it through a saw to rough size, and not end up with the grain trailing off the sides.

Then I built a steamer box from a 4" ABS or PVC pipe and blocked the ends. I blocked mine with inner tube material with a large hose clamp.